Return of the Two-Timing Hobbyist

You know the scene at the end of the Avengers when Marvel’s finest are gathered at the shawarma restaurant, eating, exhausted–but with an attitude of quiet triumph mixed with a heaping helping of disbelief? Did that seriously just happen?? 
This–not to over-dramatize (I would never do such a thing)–is how I feel right now.

I, for people who aren’t aware, am the yearbook adviser at my school. This was my first year. I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I also taught writing to around 230 middle school kids. I’m not even going to talk about that struggle. But, here we are–deadlines are past. Essays are graded. The school year is winding to a close, and it’s time to sit back and reflect on our accomplishments as my small but lazy plucky staff and I methodically stick spring supplements into the main books.

To say that I’ve been busy and therefore unable to sew is both an understatement and a bold-faced lie.

I have been very busy–overwhelmed and overworked at times. I’ve stumbled home and immediately tucked myself into bed more than once. I’ve stayed at school working until the custodians have come and gone leaving the halls empty and creepy and dark. I’ve spent weekends grading and attempting to caption tiny little faces in group photos.

That is all true. But, I’ve also had over four full weeks off since school began. I’m usually done with work and rushing out the door right at 3:30 in the afternoons. I’ve had several weekends where I’ve done absolutely no work at all.

So, no, I haven’t been sewing all that much (just a few things here and there), and, yes, I have been quite busy and tired, but, no, it’s not all because of my new job.

Truth be told, there is only one reason that I’ve been remarkably unproductive these past few months. Two words:

Dragon Age.

Two more words:

Mass Effect.

Some more words:

BioWare owns my soul.

(People who are not at all interested in video games, feel free to skip to the end. Thanks for stopping by!)

I wouldn’t necessarily label myself as a “gamer girl”–that is, unless the definition of “gamer girl” is a girl who plays video games. Which, I am. But, I don’t do online co-op or any sort of MMO stuff. I can see the appeal, but I’m not interested in hooking up with strangers to shoot aliens or zombies. Not my thing. The closest I’ve ever come is in Journey when you randomly run into other players who happen to be playing the same time as you. But, there’s no chat or screen names (until you get to the credits–and then it’s oddly poignant to read the names of the strangers you traveled with–or maybe that was just me).

But, my love of the game sort of died off for a while (after multiple attempts to slog through Final Fantasy XIII. Don’t even get me started). It wasn’t revived until early November when I googled a list of the best RPGs for the PS3 because I was in the mood to play a little something, but didn’t know what was out there. And there on the list in a modest position (somewhere in the teens) was the newly-released Dragon Age Inquisition. I watched a trailer and watched some gameplay and was intrigued. But, DAI is the third in a series. And if there’s anything you should probably know about me, it is this: I have to start at the beginning.

So, I hopped onto the PSN store and bought Dragon Age: Origins. 

Hundreds of glorious gameplay hours later, I have played and re-played all the Dragon Ages and (because of my severe depression upon completing DAI and needing something else to arrest my attention) all the Mass Effects. Now, I am slowly rising from my descent into BioWare madness and attempting to rejoin the living and productive world around me.

I have enjoyed taking an extended break from sewing and blogging. And for a long while I thought I might just be done with both. But the idea made me so sad that I knew I would be back. And now that spring is here, my fingers are twitching to sew up some new warm-weather wear. Fabric has been ordered, patterns have been chosen, and spring break is right around the corner.

But first, I need to finish sewing my sister’s Christmas presents. I bought her a whole batch of fabric and let her choose what she wanted me to make. So far, I’ve cut most of it out. And that’s it. Yes, I am both the best and worst sister ever.

P.S. If you are interested in geeking out over any of the aforementioned video games, I AM YOUR GIRL.

Update: This is my 200th post! I had no idea. I should have done a thing! Oh well.

2 thoughts on “Return of the Two-Timing Hobbyist

  1. When I was a kid I was always disappointed that teachers only assigned one or two essays or stories a year because that was my favorite thing to do in school – much better than diagramming sentences – but after reading a lot of blog posts by teachers I have finally come to realize the reason why. They have to be graded!

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

