Back to School!

Greetings, Lovely People. I have not died. Although–ask me again on Friday, I may have a different answer.

Regular readers (you guys are the bestest) know that I’m turning teacher this year. I’ve been madly dashing around Doing Things for the past couple of weeks (this includes a hop-skip-jump over to Arizona to learn how to do my job), and we have finally reached the point of culmination–the First Week of School.

Technically, classes don’t start until Thursday, but there are all sorts of goings-on in the days before. And, because I don’t know how to leave well-enough alone, I am slowly trying to revamp my classroom in colors more suitable to my personality (my color palette, for those who are interested, is aqua, coral, navy, and bits of gray. Delish!). I’ve ordered fabric for a new drapery panel for my window and a skirt for an end table to hide some storage. I am also planning to reupholster an office chair that’s been lurking in my parent’s basement. I have fun yet sophisticated fabric for my bulletin boards. I’m even planning to do a fabric panel under the shelves on my desk.

And, of course, I’m also doing lesson plans, developing curriculum (this is what happens when you create a class from scratch!), making copies, learning new software, and attending meetings upon meetings. If you didn’t want to be a teacher before, I bet you do now, right??? 🙂

All that to say. . .

It’s probably going to be quiet around these parts for the next few weeks. I have over a dozen post drafts just waiting for pictures, but I simply can’t focus on that right now. Priorities!

For now, it’s back to work. I spent all day yesterday spray painting a file cabinet. My hands and feet might be permanently turquoise–I can’t get it all off! I haven’t sewn a stitch all week–too distracted–but I will be sewing today. I need a khaki skirt for Tuesday night. And there are a couple other projects I’d really like to get done this week.

The sewing bug is biting! I’ll catch you guys later!

14 thoughts on “Back to School!

  1. Oh! So exciting! Good luck with all the other preparations. I’m starting out a parttime teacher in September and starting my preparations too. So much to do!

  2. Good luck with your new teaching job. What age range will you be teaching?
    I have been an Art and Design / Technology teacher for over 15 years. Its a hard job but you never get a moment to be bored. Ever!
    Your new classroom re-vamp sounds like fun – when you get a moment you should do a post on it.

    • I am teaching writing to middle school (6-8) and Yearbook to high school. So, I’m totally wishing I had your Design experience right now!
      I’ll try to do a little post. Need to remember to get some “before” pictures.

  3. You sound a lot like me! Until things are set up and at least a bit pretty in the classroom, I can’t even think about long range plans! Good luck! Remember, not every lesson or day has to be amazing! I used to be a lot harder on myself if something was just “fine”, but now I’m better at just moving on and thinking about what comes next. Good luck!

    • Oh, yes–I’ve always been that way. If things aren’t clean and pretty, I just feel off and I definitely can’t concentrate.
      Realistic goals are key. Being a MS/HS teacher, there’s a lot less pressure to make gloriously creative lesson plans than when working with the little bitties. Which is one reason I know elementary isn’t for me!

  4. Here’s to the best of luck with the beginning of term. What age range of kids and subjects are you going to be teaching. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you will have only the nice ones in your class 🙂

    • Thanks! I teach middle school writing and high school yearbook. I am very lucky to have some really great kids at my school. There are, of course, some of the not-so-great ones–but they make every day interesting!

  5. Hey guurrrrll, I’ve been away much too long too but yay for back to school! Good luck with everything and I’m excited to see your Fall color palette unfold as the season develops. 🙂

    • Hey, hey! I’m finding it’s really hard to come back after being gone for so long. I’ve lost my groove!
      And thanks 🙂 Things are. . . well, they are what they are. I’m learning and adjusting and everything will be better by and by!

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

