Making a Plan: Summer Sewing

Whew! Part 2 was a job, wasn’t it? I had no idea I would take so long with it! But, I did get it done in the end!

Naturally, I have made a summer sewing plan–you know how I am! One of my major goals is to prepare for next fall. A new teaching job demands a new teaching wardrobe, am I right? šŸ˜‰ But, I also need to stay cool and clothed in these sweltering summer months ahead.

Here’s what’s in store:

Maritime

So excited about this pattern! My other Grainline makes, Moss and Archer, get worn all the time. You already know–because people far more important than me have already told you–that the patterns are impeccably drafted and her directions and sew-alongs are super helpful during construction. This pattern also is one of the patterns up for one of the coveted Top 11 TNT spots. (I imagine my patterns all sitting around discussing who will make it through to the finals. Some of them are probably practicing their gracious loser face while secretly rehearsing their acceptance speech.)

I plan to live in these all summer and pair them with my Archers, my cheerful Sorbetto, and the two tees I’ve made so far. I have other tops in mind, but they might notĀ get made this summer. (Look at me practicing restraint!)

I find that I really like stretch wovens for bottoms. They just work well with my shape and are far more comfortable than wovens without stretch. Not to mention being much easier to fit! I went with two very basic neutrals, though in the future, there shall be prints. Just you wait and see!

Foxglove

This was originally supposed to be a slightly modified Lady Skater. However, when the lovely fabric arrived from Girl Charlee, I failed to notice that it had been cut twelve inches too short (I did write to GC two months after receiving the fabric and they very kindly gave me a store credit for a half yard even though it was outside the return window and I had actually washed the fabric–check your fabric upon arrival, my friends!). Also, the fabric was a bit too narrow for me to do the kimono sleeve mod I had in mind. So, when I found out about this brand new tank pattern onĀ Sew Charleston, it seemed like a perfect match.

Sleeveless and loose-fitting, it is the ideal top for southern summers and is going to be smashing with my Maritime shorts.

Skater

(Yes, I know that’s not a Lady Skater line drawing. Such a thing does not exist, sadly.) I will be sewing this mid-weight ponte dress in the sultry Southern summer fully aware that I will not be wearing it until the heat and humidity die off in the early autumn. I have two very slight mods in mind for this dress inspired by the red dress Zoey Deschanel wears in the opening credits of New Girl. You may remember me mentioning it in this post.

I’m not going to pleat the skirt since A-lines and semi-circles work best for my shape, but I do want to play with the sleeve shape a bit and maybe add some other details that are floating around my brain.

Skater Mod

When I saw this sweet aqua and coral plaid knit on Girl Charlee, I was immediately inspired to make a Colette Jasmine/ Lady Skater mash up top based onĀ this top which I pinned many moons ago. I confess it’s not the most practical choice for a separate since what I really need is tops to go with my red Moss, but every now and then you have to let your fancy be your guide. It will work with both of my Maritime shorts and with both of my denim skirts. It may possibly work with a turquoise skirt which I will mention later, but I’m not sure yet.

Shift

Yay! Another shift! When I spotted this fabric in Jo-Ann’s a while back, I just Had to Have. I waited at least a month, though, while trying to decide what I would do with it. At first, I envisioned a fit-and-flare dress. Then I pictured a circle skirt paired with a Swiss dot Jasmine. Then, I settled on the shift. After spending so much time on the pattern, I want to use it as much as possible.

The shift will be sleeveless. I had thought about playing around with the neckline or adding pockets, but I’m going to keep it simple. The fabric really speaks for itself.

A line 2

This skirt (and the next) are both specifically made to go with my red t-shirt. I hardly ever wear that tee and only then with the A-line skirt I made to go with it. So, while in Jo-Ann’s when buying the linen above, I picked out a couple quilting cottons to make more A-lines.

After buying this fabric, however, I experienced some pretty serious buyer’s remorse. I felt the flowers were too cute, too reminiscent of something I may have worn in elementary school. But, I’m just going to embrace the twee and make something adorable. And that’s that.

A line 1

This fabric is so similar to my first A-line that it’s almost ridiculous that I bought it. But, I really liked it! So, I plan to makeĀ a flared version to mix things up a bit.

Moss

Very excited about this one. Moss is amazing. Turquoise is amazing. What will I wear with it?? Stop raining on my parade! Turquoise Moss forever!

When I start making these sewing plans of mine, I always feel that I’m keeping it very simple. And then I write everything down and realize that I have twenty makes on my to-do list for two months. So, even though I have other secret items I’ll be working on, these are the 9 that I will commit myself to. My goal is to be done by August.

I know–I laughed at that a little, too.

But, as usual my sewing is far ahead of my posting. So at this point, I’ve finished threeĀ five items on this list and have two others all cut out and ready to go. I think I’m actually going to get everything done on schedule–except for the red Lady Skater, probably. That one needs some sleeve work, and we all know how many hours that’s going to take me!

So, what are you sewing this summer? Swimsuits? Sundresses? Southern hemisphere winter-wear?

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

