Making a Plan: Part Two

Can you believe it? I actually finished a sewing plan! I’ve made plans many a time, and they have never been completed.

Planning is my favorite part, so I started collecting patterns and picking out fabric for a new round long before I finished my first sewing plan. I’m still sticking with my palette (for the most part) and still trying to make items that are mix-and-matchable. However, this round is very dress-heavy. I’ve determined that separates are great, but you simply can’t beat the ease of tossing on a dress. Also, I’m relaxing my rules for dresses. I’m not great at creative layering, so in my world, a dress is a dress. If I can wear more than one pair of shoes and maybe a couple different cardis, I’m calling that a win.

B5794 Tie

I’ve had this pattern for quite a while now. I’m pretty excited to finally use it. But, having been spoiled by the attention to detail and sensible directions of indie designers, I worry a little bit about attempting to do a “Big 4” knit pattern. I’m convinced that the amount of ease is going to be ridiculous. So, my plan is to use my Lady Skater to compare. I had actually thought about just modifying the LS to match the details on the Butterick, but it seemed like so much work to add a yoke and gathers and modify the neckline, and I’m simply feeling too lazy. I may regret it later.

And, in case you’re wondering, teal is not really on my Color Palette. I reserve the right to cheat whenever I want. Plus, a color palette is more of a suggestion or guideline, not a rule.

B5794 Cowl

This time I’m doing view C. I think the fluid nature of a cowl is going to be lovely in the watercolor print. This knit is very lightweight, so it’s probably not the best choice for winter wear, but this is Atlanta. And there are tights. So, I think I’ll be okay. What I can’t figure out, though, is why the back of the skirt needs a seam. I’ll probably just eliminate the SA and cut it on the fold. Because I’m a sensible person.

S1776

What’s this? An actual woven fabric? With sleeves? Yes. It’s time to face my fears. . .

I originally bought this fabric to make my McCall’s 6706 skirt. But when it arrived, it was too lightweight for what I wanted. Also, it feels like magic; using it for a skirt seemed like a waste. I only had 1 1/2 yards, so I started wracking my brain for what else I could use it for. After lots of thoughts that were wrong, I finally noticed the unassuming S1776 waiting patiently for me to do something with it.

At first, I was unsure. But the more I thought about it, the more I realized that this could be something amazing. My plan is to make the version with the sleeves. Probably not the pockets. As it turns out, I’m not a patch pocket fan.

This pattern will either be glorious. . . or frumptastic.

S1776 knit

Oh. Man. As soon as I saw this print, I was like, “That is happening.” Right now, I’m not 100% sure what I plan to do. It needs to be something versatile enough for all sorts of Atlanta weather. I’m leaning towards some type of shift. I don’t really want it to be fitted. And I think I want 3/4 length sleeves. And a scoop neck. Like a modified Simplicity 1776 maybe? We’ll see.

Lady Skater Dress (Red)First of all, I know that drawing is not a Lady Skater. The problem is that there is no black and white line drawing of a Lady Skater, or even a skater dress in general, anywhere on the interwebs. If you know better, please inform me! I really like putting together these graphics to illustrate my plans, and I know there will be more Lady Skaters happening in my life.

And secondly, I know this is not your typical winter sort of dress. I’m making it anyway. I want more red in my wardrobe, and I think this will be lovely layered under a sweater. Because it’s such a summery print, I’m using the short sleeves.

M6754

I originally bought this knit to make a simple shift or t-shirt dress. However, when I saw this pattern in my stash and noticed the interesting, chevron-y madness of one of the samples, I changed my mind. Again, I think it would be a good idea to compare the sizing with my Lady Skater–tricky because of the princess seams and raglan sleeves, but still doable, I think. It is going to be a challenge trying to match up all the stripes and weird angles, but I am super excited about this dress.

S2451

Based on what I’ve read and researched over the past (almost) two years, this is quite possibly one of the most-beloved skirt patterns out there. Even people who regularly eschew “Big 4” patterns admit that this one is well-worth making. I’ve been curious to try it but haven’t been quite sure what direction to take it in until now.

I already have a denim skirt, but the fit is hardly spot-on. The waist is too big while the hips are too tight (very, very unusual for me), so it really only works with loose, long tops. I like the waist yoke on 2451 and the pockets. I’m not totally sold on the pleats, but I could probably make them work. I plan on making something between versions C and D. And I’m toying with the idea of an exposed zipper in the back.

Are people over exposed zippers yet? I hope not, since I haven’t had the chance to try one yet. Eh–whatever. I do what I want!

Archer

I know, I know, I know. How am I not sick of sewing Archers? At this point, I’ve made four. But, the three challis versions I’ve made are so fantastic, so exactly what I’ve hoped and dreamed of, that I simply need another one. Plus, I have a crazy-pants idea to thrift myself some white jeans which I shall skinny-ify to wear with my loverly navy Archer and probably some gold jewelry and the whole thing will be amazing. So there.

Lady Skater Peplum

Hey, look–it’s not navy! Did anyone else notice how navy-heavy my plans are? What can I say–I love navy. It’s my favorite neutral.

I’m using fabric left over from my color blocked skirt to whip up a peplum top based on the ever-fabulous Lady Skater pattern. I plan to make the peplum a wee bit longer in the back. Or if I’m feeling frisky, I’ll try something resembling the picture.

And, if you’ve been following along, you know that I plan for two months at a time, about one project per week. So, I really should only have eight projects planned. But, I’m cheating a bit because 1. some of these are super easy to whip up and 2. some of these are already made.

I think after this round of sewing, I will lay low for a while and make an army of t-shirts and lounge pants and camis. And I probably won’t be done with all this sewing until at least March. If I get done before that, I’m going to be remarkably impressed with myself.

So, what are your plans for February? Anything you’re really excited about?

2 thoughts on “Making a Plan: Part Two

  1. I wear a lot of navy, too! For some reason I just try to avoid black in favor of navy and gray. I made a Hollyburn skirt last summer in a navy with a white spotty print, but I still wanted a plain navy one, so I’m working on one now. 🙂 I also need a couple of navy shirts, because the only one I have seems to always be in the dirty laundry pile when I need it! There may or may not be a navy UFO pencil skirt languishing somewhere, too. Long live navy! 🙂

    • Absolutely! I wear black occasionally, but not nearly as much as navy or gray. The Hollyburn is not quite the right shape for me, but I looove seeing them on everyone else. Get on those navy shirts! Clearly, you need them!

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

