Fashion-Blind and Happy About It

Sigh. . .

Y’all? Fashion utterly boggles my mind.

I never read style or trend blogs. I don’t do street fashion blogs. I absolutely despise blogs that constantly list the top ten beauty products you absolutely can’t live without lest ye be ugly or age-appropriate.

Except for today.

Today, I’m feeling particularly demotivated. I should be sewing, so I thought if digested a blog entry or twenty, it might make me want to hop over to my sewing table and fix the seams on my latest dress. (Stripe-matching, guys. So. Many. Stripes. . . ) The problem is, it seems like the lovely bloggers I follow aren’t blogging as much as they used to. Or maybe I’ve just been reading more often and keeping up with entries because my schedule has changed (again). There was nothing new on my reader.

So, I hopped on Bloglovin’ and thought I would browse through the popular entries. Of course, most of them are fashion/OOTD/street style/beauty product blogs that I don’t read. But, one of them sort of stood out to me. So, I clicked over and read about 18 style trends that “we” (whoever the “we” is, I’m not certain) are “so over.”

As I read (or rather, browsed through the slide show–ugh. Let’s just take a brief moment for me to express to you how much I hate slide shows. Ready? I HATE THEM. A LOT.), I began to feel myself grow more and more irritated.

I believe that style is a personal thing; it cannot be dictated by other people, no matter how powerful or “glamorous” they may be. But when I read that “2012 called. It wants its done-to-death” peplum back, and thought about how I’d just made a couple of peplums (one was an experiment; one was an accident), I felt a little crestfallen in spite of myself.

Screen shot 2014-01-26 at 12.24.56 PM

Here’s what I don’t get: this group of people, whoever the heck they are, are probably the same people who back in 2012 were touting the peplum as a must-have piece for your wardrobe. What happened in those two years that made the peplum suddenly an unattractive piece of clothing? Or is it just the idea that it’s wrong to wear something for more than a couple of years?

I’m pretty sure what I’m talking about here is called “fast fashion,” cheap clothes that aren’t meant to be worn for more than a couple of seasons.

Ugh–the consumerism of it all disgusts me.

But here’s what really got me:

Screen shot 2014-01-26 at 12.25.29 PM

Did you see it? “. . .the 18 trends we’re totally over–and you should be too.”

Back off, self-proclaimed fashion deities. You are not the boss of me.

I may not be a huge fan of peplums, but I will wear them whenever I please. And you know what? I’m going to look great while I do it. Because I say so.

Weigh in my fellow sewists/sewers/seamstresses/seamsters/sewasauri/Awesome People in General. Style trends: worth keeping an eye on, or not?

 

34 thoughts on “Fashion-Blind and Happy About It

  1. Great post! I find that fashion trends (colours, sihouettes etc) tend to enter my wardrobe once I see my coworkers etc wearing them… it’s a slow, subtle thing where suddenly I find myself wanting fabric in a colour I’d never considered before, or I slowly want shorter skirts or slimmer pants… but the idea of trends coming and going in just a few years is so absurd!

    • I think that being inspired by people you know (of all shapes and sizes!) is so much more meaningful than trying to copy a stick figure on a runway or a magazine cover! (Not that there’s anything wrong with being stick-thin, either.) It makes style more organic and not so dictated.

  2. I love fashion but not as means of being dictated what to wear, but as inspiration in creating my own style. I guess that’s why we like sewing and creating our own things, they are unique, if you can carry something graciously and you are confident you own it, who cares if it’s in fashion or not?

    • “If you can carry something graciously. . . ” I LOVE how you put that. I want there to always be an element of grace in how I dress. I think it shows respect for yourself and for people around you.

  3. Haha, I made a peplum top just a few weeks ago!! Let’s not worry about those style people, ey?! Were happy enough to be in a position to make what we like to wear when we like it and not have our choices dictated by some supposed style guru.

  4. O-M-G , I just went to have a look at that slide show. Clearly, they have no idea what they are talking about! They say cowl neck tops are over!! Stupid, silly people…

  5. That slideshow is, um, interesting (and I hate them too). I’d never seen some of those trends. Others, I have no intention of giving up just because it’s “so last year”. I don’t ignore fashion entirely but, I’m certainly not a follower. It’s inspiration only. I tear out something I like and keep it in my sewing room. When planning a new project, I don’t know/pay attention to the date on the page. I sew what I want, when I want. I’m pretty sure most of my current plans are based on pages from 2011/2012 (omg!). Heck, I still haven’t sewn a peplum but, I’m going to! The fashion snobs can turn their noses up if they like but, sewing is about making and wearing what makes you happy.

    • And this is why sewing people are some of the loveliest on earth!
      I think it’s impossible to ignore fashion entirely–it’s everywhere you look. We make it work for us, not the other way around.

  6. I do like to read about trends, because I like clothes, and I am interested to see what’s out there – and because I used to work in the fashion industry and old habits die hard. But I do hate the whole “must have” tag. I am 39 years old, and can make up my own mind perfectly well, thank you! And my own mind tells me that I don’t want to look exactly the same as everyone else. That is why I sew. 🙂

  7. I love your little rant! I totally don’t follow fashion trends in magazines. I do however follow sewing trends. A bit. If I love it then I’ll get the pattern but if I don’t I let it slide, even if it seems like every sewing blogger is making it.
    Fashion is the devil because it doesn’t suit every body type (I’m talking to you, low rise skinny jeans!). I think we should find clothes that make us feel good and flatter our figures.

    • Low rise anything! Not for me.
      Even sewing trends are tricky to navigate. I’ve been caught up in them before and it hasn’t always turned out well for me. Learning to say, “Nope!” even when everyone else is making it is a great lesson to learn early!

  8. Love this post! This is one of the reasons I started sewing, so I could wear clothes I love not what’s popular at the moment. I tend to ignore the trends and just take what I like from fashion blogs and magazines.

  9. This is one of the many, many reasons I started to create my own clothes. I don’t like invisible people trying to tell me what I should be wearing, either through magazines or what they populate the shops with. There have been seasons that were declared a hit by the fashion followers and I could find absolutely nothing that suited me! I have a look at what is coming out but for inspiration only – I may see a couple of fabrics paired together that I would never have thought of or an interesting detail but they usually end up on my Pinterest boards until I can work them into something I want to sew and know I will wear for longer than a season. So keep up the good work and wear your peplum with pride!

  10. There is certainly a difference between fashion and style. Fashion is whatever I suddenly notice when it dawns on me everyone looks the same. For me it is pointless to follow it. Oscar Wilde said it best: “Fashion is a form of ugliness so intolerable that we have to alter it every six months.” I find it very easy to tell when someone is wearing something on trend, rather than because it suits them. It’s what I love about starting to sew my own clothes. I can now truly make what i want to wear and have so much more freedom than what I can find just thrifting.

  11. I actually really like some of those ‘trends’ so why should I give them up! I live in infinity scarves and waterfall cardigans and I’m going to keep wearing them. I’m just happy I don’t have any ‘fashionista’ friends, so I wouldn’t be judged anyway. But it bothers me as well that fasion needs to be fast. I like looking at the new things but for inspiration, not to find out about what I can and can’t wear! So I think that’s the joy of sewing. Even if waterfall cardigans are out and therefor impossible to find in store, I can still make new ones every day 🙂

  12. Ha, you crack me up! You are so right and it is so refreshing to hear you speak so frankly. I totally agree with you about just doing your own thing. It is one of the most liberating things about sewing – being able to not participate in fashion in the same way. If we want something, we make it.
    Sometimes it takes courage to not just follow along, so congratulations to us for having this courage.
    Your recent wardrobe reworking etc is totally on the right track to creating style rather than fashion.
    My friend used to say she would rather be a fashion perpetuator than a fashion victim 🙂

    • Your friend sounds awesome 🙂
      I guess it does take courage to make something yourself and then actually wear it no matter what’s “in” at the moment. I never really thought about it!

  13. Oh, gah, this kind of thing is way annoying. Some of those trends I’ve deliberately avoided (waterfall cardigans, for one) because they don’t suit me. Others I have no plan to give up anytime soon (really, infinity scarves are over?). It’s like the “Portlandia” sketch where the guy runs around telling people that everything’s “over”. It’s one thing to not be interested in a trend that everyone and their mother seems to be wearing, but it’s another thing to generate a constant cycle of insecurity and consumption just to sell more crap. Yuck! It’s so wasteful!

  14. Love this post! This is exactly why I don’t read “fashion blogs”, either. It is just silly and ignorant. To stick to the item in question, the peplum, it is a garment feature that came into fashion in the Victorian era. And has reappeared multiple times since. It is a timeless and versatile style, that will continue to be a part of womens fashion. In the picture from the “fashion blog”, I think the “experts” would be better off questioning why the torn up jeans is a more suitable garment to have in ones wardrobe, than the peplum.

    • Thanks!
      It does always make me chuckle when people talk about fashion trends as if they’ve never happened before. Fashion is cyclical, after all.
      Although, there was a brief moment in the 90s when all the cool kids were wearing pacifier necklaces. I don’t know where that came from, and I hope it never comes back.

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

