Twenty Forward: Goals for a New Year

Now that I have rejoined the realms of the living and (non-stuffy) breathing, it’s time to ponder the future.

This year, my goals are simple.

1. Continue to Sew a Wardrobe

If you’re not sure what I’m talking about, you can read up on this project here. I’ve given it its own page because this is what my sewing is all about now: building a small, versatile, remixable wardrobeย that I actually want to wear.

(Well, well, well–look who else is interested in building wardrobes. I’m very curious to see what new ideas they bring to the table.)

2. Fit a few basic patterns

I’m kind of stealing this idea from both Lucky Lucille and Fashion incubator (via A Fashionable Stitch), but I really think that choosing a handful of patterns to fit that can be modified into just about anything else (or used to compare the fit to new patterns) is a really great idea. One that will work out much better for me than slaving away over a dress block. I’ve already started choosing the patterns that I’ll work with, and I’m really excited to get to work on this project. Luckily, I’d already planned on using three of them in my next round of wardrobe sewing.ย 

3. Revamp the blog

I’ve been chatting on and off with my friend Hunter about giving the blog a makeover for a few months now. My goal is to implement some cosmetic changes by March.

4. Sew a little every day

As it turns out, sewing for at least 20 minutes every day is harder than you might think. It takes planning and discipline. The planning is easy–the discipline, not so much. But, if I’m going to stay productive even when I’m busy, that’s what it’s going to take.

5. Take more, more, more pictures of all the things

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately. I have an Instagram account that I rarely use any more. I never think to snap a few shots while I’m in sewing progress. I always have a backlog of posts waiting on pictures. And if photography is something I want to get better at, then it’s something I’ll need to practice.

6. Embroider steadily

I really love embroidery. I have a wall in my room that I wish to entirely cover with embroidered pieces. Right now, it’s a small but random assortment–but the randomness makes me happy. The key is to choose projects that are not so long that I lose interest.

Contrary to my nature, these goals all seem rather open-ended. I mean–there’s not really a way to accomplish “continue to sew a wardrobe” is there? I just feel that this is the way to go this year. I find that I’m releasing the stringent standards I used to hold myself to (Sew multiple muslins for every garment! Never sew the same pattern twice in a row! Dress like a ModCloth employee! Draw from scratch a dress block so I can make my own patterns even though I’ve only been sewing for a year! Blog daily! Be inspiring!). Instead, I embrace practical creativity, peaceful sewing, and the wearable wardrobe they produce.

So what about you? If you were to accomplish just one thing this year, what would it be?

Here’s to a year of sewing what we love!

10 thoughts on “Twenty Forward: Goals for a New Year

    • Take your time! Goal-setting can’t be rushed, you know? Last year I rushed through mine and came up with an impressive list of things I never achieved.
      I appreciate your comments–they’re so encouraging ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Welcome back! 2014 seems to be the year of building a cohesive and wearable wardrobe, for sure. I also want to either find and fit or draft and fit a bodice and dress. I’ve been having trouble finding styles that fit and flatter. I also want to set a goal of sewing every day! I think it will be very rewarding and become a habit rather than a chore. We’ll see if I can stick to it tho. We should check in on one another to see if we are sewing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Absolutely! Accountability is necessary when trying to create new habits.
      I find that when I save all my sewing for Saturday afternoon, I get burned out very quickly. Or, even worse, I start to rush through a project just to get it done (kind of like I did last weekend. . . ) But, when I take my time doing small bits of a project throughout the week, I’m more likely to really focus on what I’m doing and get it done properly.
      Good luck with your bodice and dress!

  2. I love all your goals, especially #4. I’m going to try to implement that into my routine this year, too. But you’re right, it’s the discipline that’s hard. Also, I didn’t you know embroider! Can’t wait to see your makes this year, as well as, read about your wardrobe building which I’m going to try to do this year, too! xoxo ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I don’t really talk about it very much since I don’t ever embroider my clothes. But, yeah–I embroider when I want to make something but I don’t want to think very hard.
      Having that “building a wardrobe” mentality has honestly revolutionized my sewing!

  3. For me, with apexpecting a baby in May, I hope to continue to sew and blog as often as is possible. Already I’m struggling a bit with both, but I will keep trying!

    Good luck with your plans. Hopefully keeping them a bit more vague will feel a bit less like hard work, and you’ll enjoy them! Looking forward to seeing what you make!

    • My sister, brother-in-law, and their two-year-old and newborn were here for a week at Christmas, and I have never been so EXHAUSTED. I honestly don’t know how people have children and also do other things. So, you have ALL my respect whether you sew anything or not ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes, vague feels right for this year. Vague and flexible.

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

