Black, White, and Every Color In Between

Fall Woods

Autumn times!

After seeing a picture of this skirt on Pinterest, I began to formulate a plan.

Skirt 2

Please excuse my face. Apparently, I still think I’m taking pictures ironically.

I used black and white cotton/lycra knit (both have over 50% stretch) and 3/4″ elastic.

The trickiest part of the process was figuring out how big to make the waistband. I knew it needed to have negative ease, but I didn’t want to go too crazy. Also, I wanted the elastic to work as more of a waist stabilizer rather than be super stretched out. After trying to do all sorts of maths in my brain, I finally realized that a more practical, hands-on approach was necessary.

Full Skirt

In the end, it was simple. I wound the elastic around my natural waist until it fit comfortably, added an inch overlap on either side, and then cut it. I used that measurement (minus the overlap) to figure out how long to cut the waistband piece. I knew that I wanted the fabric to stretch just a tad more than the elastic so there was no possibility of a wrinkly waist. So, I just cut the fabric about an inch or so shorter than the elastic.

The skirt itself is a dirndl. I just figured out how long I wanted the skirt to be, divided by five stripes, added the seam allowance, and then figured out how big I wanted the skirt to be at the hem (since the skirt is pretty much a rectangle) in order to figure out how long each block needed to be.

Skirt 4

I found it easier to sew the front panel and back panel separately and then sew them together at the side seams being very careful to line up all the horizontal seams. I also did a ton of topstitching to keep the seam allowances under control.

At first, I gathered the skirt before attaching it to the waist band. When I tried it on. . . oh man. I was devastated. It looked horrible. So, like a sensible person, I hid it in my closet and went to bed.

Skirt 3

The next day, during a Firefly marathon, I oh-so-patiently unpicked the waist and tried pleating the skirt instead.

So much better. So much relief.

There is still quite a bit of bulk at the waist. And I’m still trying to figure out the best ways to wear the skirt that work with my shape. I also really, really wish I had figured out a way to add pockets. At the time, I wasn’t sure how since I needed to topstitch. Also, I wanted to make sure that there wasn’t a black pocket behind a white stripe or white pocket behind a black stripe. Which means I would have needed to color block my pockets as well. Which was simply too much.

I don’t wear this skirt very often, but I still like it. I’m very happy with the length and fullness. And I suspect that it will look pretty good with a wide belt.

Skirt CloseAlso, ignore the shirt. I did not make it. If I had the sense I was born with, I would have thrown on an Archer of some sort. But, I was swiftly losing light and getting set up takes forever. So, I just went with the outfit I wore that day.

I have lots of that black left over. I’m thinking about making a Lady Skater mullet peplum top. Or maybe just a regular Lady Skater peplum. Or maybe just a regular Lady Skater tee. But I really fancy that mullet idea. . .

I have all of next week off; therefore I officially dub it Thanksgiving Week of Picture-Taking!! I have to get caught up on all my accomplishments. (My first round of Wardrobe Sewing is almost done–woo hoo!)

Any tips for self-photography without a remote? I clearly need some guidance 🙂

4 thoughts on “Black, White, and Every Color In Between

    • Why, thank you, my dear 🙂
      When I looked at the enlarged photos, I admit I was a bit baffled by the fabric. It looks rather papery. I was mostly just drawn to the big, bold, black and white stripes.
      We still need to have our sewing day. . .

  1. I’m pretty sure I have a similar skirt Pinned on a board somewhere. I really love those wide stripes. I like the pleats – so much nicer than gathers for this style, I think you did a great job. For pockets I would have just done inseam, but top stitched the stripe seam allowances first (if I’m understanding correctly). Black would probably have been safest as long as it didn’t show through the white. Anyway, great skirt!

    • You know, I thought of that (topstitching before sewing side seams) but I didn’t like the thought of trying to match up both seams and topstitching above and below the seam. Although, now that you mention it, I maybe could have pre-topstitched just the seams that would be affected by the pockets. Oh well–if I ever color block again, I’ll know better!

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

