Me-Made-May ’13: Day 31 (I Should Explain. . .)

So, here we are.

Congratulations to all of you who made it through the month–31 days of taking pictures and/or writing posts is no small feat!

Me-Made-May, for those who haven’t been sewing their whole lives, is a challenge. This, I knew–but this being my very first MMM, I wasn’t quite prepared for the amount of time I’d spend taking photos, downloading photos, editing photos (this takes forever on my little laptop), and then uploading photos, not to mention writing the posts–all usually well after my bedtime.

But, I learned a lot: what not to wear, what I need to make, what I need to stop making, how not to take photos. And I’m pretty proud of how I managed to stay true to my vow: Me-Mades six days a week.

Which brings me to today. . .

I do not have a Me-Made to show you today. I stumbled just as I was crossing the I-Can-Finally-Stop-Taking-Daily-Pictures-of-Myself Finish Line. But, I’m not kicking myself, and I don’t feel guilty.

Today was a sad day. It was one of those bittersweet days that you see coming and you feel you’re prepared for. But when it arrives, the bitter just sort of engulfs you. And while you know the sweet is still there, it’s hard to see.

Like, when your oldest child leaves for the college she’s always wanted to attend.

When your sister marries the man of her dreams. And then moves to the other side of the ocean.

Or when you get to take the kittens you’ve raised to their new home. But suddenly your backyard seems like a very lonely place.

Whatever the reason, a red nose and puffy eyes do not good pictures make.

I’ll be back sometime with pictures of the outfit I had planned for today. And, more importantly, I’ll tell you about my very, very favorite author. I saved the best for last, and it would break my little heart not to share her with you!

And goodness knows my heart doesn’t need any more of that nonsense. . .

Happy Friday, y’all! If you need me, I’ll be here watching Arrested Development and playing Minecraft on my phone. Like a boss.

13 thoughts on “Me-Made-May ’13: Day 31 (I Should Explain. . .)

  1. I’m so sorry you had a rough day! I hope that turning your mind off and cocooning has helped… Arrested Development is always great distraction from life’s problems! 🙂 Feel happier soon!

    • Thanks 🙂 A good night’s sleep really helped–I’m feeling okay today. Might even spend some quality time with my sewing machine!

    • Yay–I’m so glad 🙂 Book nerds are my fave! I’m on twitter (though I’m not a faithful tweeter–I mostly just read what everyone else is up to, like a friendly stalker)– @bobbinsnwhimsy. What’s your twitter name? I’ll definitely let you know if I read anything interesting.

  2. I can totally sympathize. This month has thrown me and taking pictures has been the last thing in my head. Let it out, rest, recover and play with us!

  3. I’m so sorry to hear that, but don’t kick yourself about it. 31 great and happy days are rare! And honestly, I think you did a great job just participating in MMM in the first place. I thought to myself it would be a great idea but 31 pictures?! I’m far too lazy for that!

    Come back when you’re reading, I love your posts!

  4. Good morning Jenny! I have enjoyed your MMM ’13 throughout all of your posts. Which I went back and reread ;D. You have inspired me to begin to sew for myself again and to wear my creations throughout my week. I don’t want to have a very large wardrobe, but one that is versatile enough to go anywhere. Thank you so much for sharing Jenny…have a blessed day! m.

    • I’m so happy to hear that!
      I feel the same way about my wardrobe–I don’t want a ton of clothes (where would I put them all??). I have a rule: every time I make something new, I get rid of something old. Now I just need to start making things I’ll really love!

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

