Me-Made-May ’13: Day 30

It’s almost over! Woot!

Here’s this shirt again. . .

Woke up with a sore neck which proceeded to hurt all day. Thanks, neck.

Woke up with a sore neck which proceeded to hurt all day. Thanks, neck.

I’m thinking, after seeing several pictures, that I should have lengthened the front by a couple of inches. It hits me a sort of a weird place.

MMM30-2

Top: Sewing with Knits Scoop Neck Tee (with mods)

Today’s book is Everlost by Neal Shusterman.

MMM30-3

Guys. Neal Shusterman. Read him. He is amazing.

This was the first book of his that I read. Afterwards, when I was exclaiming about it to a friend, she gave me another book of his (The Schwa Was Here) which was also amazing.

Now, the premise might sound a little weird and morbid, but trust me–this is a fantastic book. (And now I’m totally going to copy what I wrote on my old blog forever ago because I am too tired right now to make logical words. . .Three cheers for “copy” and “paste!”)

“What happens to people–specifically, kids–when they die? According to Shusterman, there’s a world in between ours and the afterlife. Kids who die sometimes become stuck between-worlds in a shadow land called Everlost. Nick and Allie find this out first hand when they both die in the same car crash on a lonely road next to a dead forest. When they wake up they are in a live forest wherein lives a strange boy who explains what has happened to them. Everlost is a land which is ruled by Mary, the Queen of lost kids, and is haunted by a monster named The McGill. Once the two meet Mary, Nick develops quite a crush and is content to stay, while Allie wants nothing more than to go home.

It all sounds rather dismal, but the story is told with good humor and a measure of lost-boy lightheartedness. I found the fact that Mary has created a home for lost children in the ghosts of the Twin Towers to be strangely poignant–especially when I picture all those children playing happily in front of what was once a scene of such devastation. The entire story revolves around death, but it abounds with hope.

I casually read the first half of the book, but after that point I was hooked. This was another one that I stayed up until 3:00 in the morning to finish. Once I was done, I just set the book down and laughed for the sheer brilliance of it all. The ending was so phenomenal that it is the reason that I love the book so much. If it had ended differently, I think I would have been highly irritated.”

It can be said, then, that Everlost is heaven. Perhaps not for people, but for the places that deserve a share of forever.

 

Such places are few and far between, these grand islands of eternity in the soupy, ever-changing world of the living. New York had its share of forever-places. The greatest of these stood near Manhattan’s southern-most tip: the two gray brothers to the green statue in the bay. The towers had found their heaven. They were a part of Everlost now, held fast, and held forever by the memories of a mourning world, and by the dignity of the souls who got where they were going on that dark September day.

 

(Bonus! The book has sequels! I haven’t read them yet. In fact, I just discovered their existence not long ago. Go forth and read!)

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

