Me-Made-May ’13: Day 27

Is anyone else thinking right now that May is the LONGEST MONTH EVER???

It’s not the posting that gets me–it’s the taking of the pictures. And the uploading and editing and uploading again of the pictures. Takes. Forever.

But, we’re coming to the end of this celebration of sewing prowess, so I’m going to try to get caught up.

Confession: I didn’t actually take these pictures yesterday. But this is the outfit I wore yesterday.

MMM27-2As you can see, I’m sort of over it. Not the shirt (which is the only Me-Made), but just the day.

I was pretty tired.

Plus tomorrow is Wednesday (reminder, this is the outfit I wore Monday, but didn’t take pictures of until today. Then again, it’s 11:30 and I may be the only one confused. . . )

MMM27-1It’s almost comical how angry I looked in every single picture. These were the “happy” faces.

Top: New Look 6107

So, what do you do when you’re majorly grumpy pants? You turn to one of your favorite authors.

You can probably tell from this prodigious stack that L. M. Montgomery is one of my favorite authors.

You can probably tell from this prodigious stack that I kind of enjoy L. M. Montgomery.

Today’s book is Anne of the Island by L. M. Montgomery. (With a very warm nod to Rilla of Ingleside.)

I love, love, love, adore this book. I love the college atmosphere. And the fact that Anne and her friends live in their very own house. Not to mention it’s the book where (spoilers!) Anne and Gilbert finally get together (le sigh. . . ).

It’s just the most homey, most relaxing book there ever was.

“I love them, they are so nice and selfish. Dogs are TOO good and unselfish. They make me feel uncomfortable. But cats are gloriously human.”

 

 

6 thoughts on “Me-Made-May ’13: Day 27

    • Thank you 🙂
      When I find an author I like, I tend to collect as many books by them as I can. And there are so many more out there I haven’t read!

  1. Oh, I love, love, LOVE Lucy Maud Montgomery books too! I’ve read and re-read them all my life. Like you said, they are so homey… perfect for when I need to retreat from the world! When I got married my husband held his vows taped into a comic book (featuring Mr. Miracle and Big Barda, two equally kickass superheroes who are married to each other!) and I had mine taped into “Anne’s House of Dreams”! (Oh, nerd love!)

    I agree the taking and editing the pics is the hardest part – I’ve been really grateful just to be using a tripod in one location all month, c it means I can be pretty fast! Still have to edit and upload the pic though, and that always takes me a while…

    • Haha! That’s awesome! Anne’s House of Dreams was the perfect wedding choice 🙂
      The one good thing about all the picture-taking is that it’s good practice for future makes, I suppose.

  2. I LOVE LM Montgomery. I re-read the Anne series just about every year- it’s like comfort food. I just adore them. I also like the first two in the Emily series, but the third one didn’t quite do it for me. At least she ended up with Teddy! (FINALLY.)

    • I didn’t like the third Emily book either–Emily was kind of irritating, I thought. Teddy, though. . . always adorable. The second is probably my favorite of the three.

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

