Me-Made-May ’13: Day 25

A day late again. I’m spending the weekend with a friend, and we’ve been having too much fun to post.

Keeping it simple.

20130526-151949.jpg

Top: Colette Sorbetto

Today’s book is Villette by Charlotte Bronte.

20130526-152000.jpg

Most of you have probably read Jane Eyre, as have I. But, I liked Villette so much more. For one, Rochester most definitely drove me crazy with his long speeches. He would go on and on and on for pages and I was like, “Dude. . . chill.” Also, I really liked the setting of Villette. It takes place at a girls’ school in Villette which is in France. Other than that, I don’t know why I liked it so much (I feel like I say this a lot).

I will also say this: I did not see the ending coming. I got to a crucial bit and was like,
“Wait. . . what???” And I had to go back and re-read a few chapters with my whole brain. (Sometimes I space out when I’m reading books with long sentences and big words.)

Maybe it’s this: I really liked Lucy, the main character. In some ways she reminded me of myself. She never did crazy things that I wouldn’t do. And sometimes it’s a relief to meet myself in a book.

“I believe while I tremble; I trust while I weep.”

(Also, warning: There’s a lot (a lot) of French in this book. My version did not include translations or explanations. And some important bits of conversation are in French. So, it helps to have Google Translate at the ready. Or to speak the language.)

2 thoughts on “Me-Made-May ’13: Day 25

  1. Well, you know I love that Sorbetto. But I think we’re booknerd soul sisters- we love a lot of the same stuff! I love me some Bronte (not Wuthering Heights, though. That shiz was messed up.) Have you ever read Agnes Grey? I. Loved. It.

    • I haven’t read Agnes Grey and now I’m so excited about it! I need to get to the library! Yes, my booknerd soul sister, I will take ALL of your book suggestions 🙂

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

