Me-Made-May ’13: Day 23

Oops–totally forgot to post last night. It was sort of a crazy evening. But it’s okay. This is why all the sensible people do round-up posts.

I must have found my camera’s flattering angle because these pictures are terribly deceptive.

And sorry about the terrible framing. You'd think I'd be better at this by now. . .

And sorry about the terrible framing. You’d think I’d be better at this by now. . .

So, when I tell you that I felt like a manatee in this outfit, you might think I’m just being hard on myself.

But seriously–me=manatee (minus the making people think I’m a mermaid).

MMM23-2

So much so that I had to change for comfort’s sake.

Into another skirt that I’m not fond of…

MMM23-5

But which I felt so much better in.

MMM ’13 Lesson #1: Make myself skirts I like to wear for Pete’s sake.

MMM23-4

Skirt #1: Colette Beignet (still not blogged yet)
Skirt #2: Simplicity 2564

Today’s book is The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas.

MMM23-3

I’ve read both the abridged and unabridged versions of this book and let me tell you, the unabridged is soooo much better.

I do understand the need for an abridged version though. The story tends to wander off down these long, long rabbit trails. They’re not strictly necessary, I suppose, but they give such a rich history of what Dantes (our hero) has been up to since his escape from prison.

I can’t say that I like Dumas altogether. I’ve read The Three Musketeers and The Black Tulip and didn’t really enjoy either of them. I don’t know why–they just didn’t interest me all that much.

But Monte Cristo is amazing. You should read it (if you haven’t already). And I won’t even judge you for choosing the abridged version if you don’t feel like dealing with all the sub-plots.

 “And now, farewell to kindness, humanity and gratitude. I have substituted myself for Providence in rewarding the good; may the God of vengeance now yield me His place to punish the wicked.”

2 thoughts on “Me-Made-May ’13: Day 23

  1. I would’ve liked to see the Beignet with a shorter top- maybe that would have helped you feel less “manatee-like”? The top looks great with the pink skirt! I think they’re both winners, but if you don’t feel good in them, you definitely need to try a different pattern.
    Did you see the movie version of Monte Cristo with Jim Caviezel? That ending was a total cop-out, feel-good schmutz. I much prefer the book ending.

    • The problem with the Beignet is my fabric choice–it was way too thick. I may try again in a poplin or sateen. But you’re right, the shirt was too long for the skirt. Someday I’ll learn how to dress myself 🙂

      Ugh–that movie. . . Haydee (I might be off on the name there) was obviously a much better choice than Mercedes. I wish the BBC would do a proper mini-series of it. Wouldn’t that be amazing?

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

