Me-Made-May ’13: Day 20

Ugh–this top. It has got to go!!

MMM20-1

Today wasn’t even hot by Georgia standards, but I was sweltering in this poly charmeuse. I went to the mall today to do some recon, and though I was walking rather casually (maybe a little bit quicker when trying to skirt around those guys who want to straighten my hair for me), I felt very melty in this top.

MMM20-2

So, due to terrible, terrible fabric choice (I didn’t know any better!), I’m either going to give it away or turn it into something else. I haven’t decided yet.

Top: Colette Sorbetto

And today’s book is actually an author: James Thurber.

MMM20-3

I love me some James Thurber. His dry sense of humor and occasional light poignancy make him one of my very favorite authors. If you’re familiar with Thurber, you’ve probably heard of “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty” or “The Night the Bed Fell.” Both of these are favorites, but I think that at the top of the list would have to be “A Friend to Alexander,” one of Thurber’s darker stories in which a man begins to dream about the famous rivalry between Alexander Hamilton and Aaron Burr. It isn’t long before he’s trying to learn to duel and freaking his wife right out.

Thurber was also a cartoonist. And here’s one of his cartoons:

MMM20-4

See? Totally dry. And I love it.

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

