Me-Made-May ’13: Day 19

I’ve been critquing this dress all day. The fit is all sorts of crazy, and I’ve already talked about my technique failures. But, this was the third dress I ever made, for perspective’s sake.

MMM19-1

It’s still comfortable, and it’s still one of my favorites. It used to be at the top of my list, but was recently dethroned by the dress I made for my friend’s wedding (which shall one day make a blog appearance).

Wearing this dress always gets me thinking philosophical sewing thoughts. But, I’m saving those thoughts for another post.

MMM19-2

(Do you guys have a dress or top or whatever that you know isn’t that well-made, but you love to wear it anyway?)

Dress: Simplicity 2180

Today’s book is actually a series and sort of goes along with the love/hate theme of my day. Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer.

I did sneak a couple of non-Artemis titles into the stack. Half-moon was good; Supernatural was not.

I did sneak a couple of non-Artemis titles into the stack. Half-moon Investigations was good; The Supernaturalist was not.

The first three books in this series were amazing. Artemis is a twelve-year-old criminal genius. And there are faeries. And there is a war between Artemis and the faeries. And it’s amazing.

The problem is that after the third book (maybe the fourth, if I’m being generous), things begin to deteriorate. It’s almost like Colfer starts to get tired of his own series and begins to write like he’d rather be taking a nap. The series loses its edge and seems to fall back on worn out plot devices. Granted, the later titles aren’t bad–they’re still tons of fun to read. It’s just that after such a brilliant start to the series, I had really high expectations of how it would progress. I have not read the last book, but I am still hopeful. Colfer may yet redeem himself in my eyes–and I really hope he does. Artemis is definitely one of the most interesting characters I’ve ever read.

Always two steps ahead, that was Master Artemis. People said he was a chip off the old block. They were wrong. Master Artemis was a brand-new block, the likes of which had never been seen before.

4 thoughts on “Me-Made-May ’13: Day 19

  1. I think this dress looks pretty on you, and I really love both the fabrics!

    Yes! My Violet totally fits that bill. The fit is really not good, but I love it anyway and wear it LOTS. And I’ve now written a post about it just for you! 🙂

    P.S. I really like that first photo of you! You look lovely!

    • Thanks 🙂 I was very pleased (and slightly uncertain) when I put those fabrics together, but somehow they just go!

      Hopping over to read right now!

  2. Well, I like the dress! I’ve read the first one or two of Artemis Fowl, but haven’t made it past. It was a good five years ago, though, so maybe I’ll have to revisit.

    • Yeah, I want to read the whole series again before I read the last one. I’m really hoping that with fresh eyes they’ll all be suddenly wonderful. We’ll see. . .

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

