Me-Made-May ’13: Day 18

Rainy days are for bright colors and braids.

And so that’s what I did.

MMM18-1

I really didn’t mean to be fiddling with my braids in every picture–but that’s what happened.

You may be thinking that I forgot to post yesterday. I didn’t; I had nothing to do outside the house and didn’t want to waste the outfit.

I really think this is my favorite top. It’s comfy and cheerful.

But these shorts. . . Sure, when I’m standing still for a picture, they look okay, but they feel very sloppy. The waist fits, but the rest is (are?) baggy.

Yes, that is a Neville bottom disappearing into a hole in the wall.

Yes, that is a Neville bottom disappearing into a hole in the wall.

Top: Colette Sorbetto
Shorts: Colette Iris

Today’s book: Dracula by Bram Stoker

MMM18-3

By the by, my eye infection is basically better. I’m just waiting for the redness to go away (I accidentally scorched my lid with my over-enthusiastic warm compress application).

I read this book long before Twilight was a twinkle in Stephenie Meyer’s eye, and I had never read anything by Ann Rice. So, this was my first vampire experience. And, in my opinion, it is the best vampire experience.

The book isn’t scary at all; instead it’s chilling, creepy. The story is told through a series of journals, letters, telegraphs, transcripts, and newspaper articles in such a matter-of-fact tone that it makes the events that are recounted more disturbing. (By the way, I absolutely abhored the movie.)

I doubt; I fear; I think strange things which I dare not confess to my own soul.

It kinda makes me wish it were Halloween already. . .

4 thoughts on “Me-Made-May ’13: Day 18

  1. I like the yellow shorts! I prefer mine a little baggy, so to me they look just right. I love the iris pattern, you may have just inspired me to make some yellow ones. What kind of fabric did you make yours out of?

    • They’re twill. I want to say it was organic, but I might be making that up. . .
      I think the pattern is really cute–and they seem to look great on everyone I’ve seen! But, I just don’t think they’re for me.

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

