Me-Made-May ’13: Day 14

Today, I wore a shirt that bugs me and some shorts that don’t fit and somehow, I didn’t feel terrible wearing them!

Wow--something went a little wonky with the editing. If I weren't so tired, I might try to fix it.

Wow–something went a little wonky with the editing. If I weren’t so tired, I might try to fix it.

I can’t really say why. . . . Maybe because the blouse fabric is so lovely? Maybe because I felt like I had a normal length torso for once? Maybe because when I made both these pieces, they were too small, but now they’re not?

Or maybe it was just a lovely, warm, sunshiny day. And that was enough.

Though, as I was wearing it, I did get an idea to fix the collar on this blouse. But, we’ll see. I need to figure out how to do it.

MMM14-1

Oh, did you need some derp in your day? Let me help you with that. . .

Blouse: New Look 6078
Shorts: Colette Iris

And today’s book: Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen

MMM14-3

There are two things I love about this book: the point of view and the ending. The story is narrated by both of the main characters, Bryce and Julianna, each taking a turn to tell his or her side of the story.

It really makes me wish I were still teaching–it would be so interesting to read this book with a class and discuss how we all can have very different perceptions of the same occurences.

And although I couldn’t say it like that at the time, I still had enough sense at age seven and a half to know that Julianna Baker was dangerous.

Looking back, I like to think it was at least partly scientific curiosity that made me chase after that kiss, but it was probably more those blue eyes.

And the ending? Well, I certainly won’t give it away. Let’s just say that you don’t expect it, and maybe you don’t want it, but it’s the exact ending the story should have.

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

