Me-Made-May ’13: Day 10

Oh, man–it’s about 2:00 in the morning. I’m scrambling around trying to finish all the little things I didn’t get done today (next I get to clean out the litter box. . . ) because I went out and partied with some friends.

And by “partied,” I mean we had some food and then everyone watched me die repeatedly on Red Dead Redemption. Which equals a pretty awesome night.

So, again, this is not the outfit I had planned for today. That outfit (the same one I bumped from Tuesday) may get worn eventually. Who even knows. . .

Now, I know we’re not supposed to panic sew for MMM, but it’s not really panic sewing if you’re quite calm and collected while you do it, right? This top is one that I made last fall–I believe it’s the first one I made with my Craftsy Sewing with Knits class. It’s a rayon burnout jersey which is a tremendous pain to sew with because the edges ROLL LIKE THE DICKENS. (I imagine Dickens roll a great deal.) I was pleased with the collar at the time, but that was pretty much it. I left the sleeves and bottom unhemmed, and even though I went back and added some (very sloppy) sleeve bands, I wasn’t happy with the look. It only got worn once.

I’ve known for a while that I wanted to fix the shirt somehow, but it wasn’t until this morning that inspiration finally hit:

MMM10-1

The shorts are too big. That’s why they look so very sloppy.

For once in my life, I'm being "on trend."

For once in my life, I’m being “on trend.” Also a little awkward–but that’s just me. 

 

Though I have been silently scoffing at all this high-low hem business happening around the interwebs, it became clear to me that I had to try it on this top. It wanted a high-low hem. It was all very unscientific. I folded the shirt in half down the CF and CB, lining up the side seams in the middle and used a French curve to draw the new curved hem line. I tried to mimic the curve of the hem on my sleeves, but I’m not sure I really like them. I definitely like them better than I used to! I used Steam-a-Seam lite to hem it properly. Man, I love that stuff.

I am all about the denim jackets right now!

I am all about the denim jackets right now!

Top: Sewing with Knits scoop neck tee (with modified hem and sleeves)

Shorts: Colette Iris

And today’s book is actually a couple of series by the same author: Gallagher Girls and Heist Society by Ally Carter. 

GG is a six part (or is it seven?) series about a teenager named Cammie who is enrolled in Gallagher Academy, a school that secretly trains talented girls to become spies. The girls learn multiple languages, combat skills, and your basic computer hacking maneuvers–it’s pretty intense! HS is an open-ended series about Kat, a young girl who having attempted to leave her family’s international art-thieving lifestyle is pulled back into the game when her father is accused of stealing something he really shouldn’t have from someone he really shouldn’t have.

Get it? I'm spying on the books. Get it??? Okay fine--I'm just being a creeper. . .

Get it? I’m spying on the books. Get it??? Okay fine–I’m just being a creeper. . .

Come on, guys–super spies in training and international art-thievery?? So. Chic.

But, whatever you do, DON’T ask Ally if her books will become movies. She will probably cry.

6 thoughts on “Me-Made-May ’13: Day 10

    • Thanks! I like that I can show off my little buttons (which were a terrible pain to sew and ought to be publicly appreciated!) without tucking in my shirt 🙂

  1. Ohhh, Gallagher Academy sounds good! I’ve just read the first in a new series about a “finishing school” that does the same thing, but it’s steampunk. It’s cramazing and cute. It’s called “Etiquette and Espionage” if you’re interested; the second one is out this fall. Woot!
    p.s. Your outfit is totes cute.

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

