Me-Made-May ’13: Day 8

Another Wednesday. BAH HUMBUG.

Here’s a picture of me in a dress that is impossible to photograph.

MMM8-1

Here’s a picture of me in the same dress, with a cardigan.

The cardi choice was inspired by my sandals. I'm not convinced I like the pairing.

The cardi choice was inspired by my sandals. I’m not convinced I like the pairing.

Dress: Simplicity 1801

Today’s book is a truly fabulous one: Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli (also, honorable mentions to Love, Stargirl and Smiles to Go).

If there are any Jerry Spinelli fans in the audience, I have to say that I do own a copy of Maniac McGee--I just don't know where it is.

Oh, the neckline. Disgraceful. Should have been interfaced.

First of all, Jerry Spinelli has to be one of my top ten favorite authors. Everything he writes is incredible. The photo above is proof that I’ve done a fair amount of Spinelli reading. Of course, today, we’re focussing on Stargirl. (Also, if there are any other Spinelli fans out there, I have to say that I do actually own a copy of Maniac McGee. I just don’t know where it is at the moment.)

Yes, this is technically another “kid” book (maybe right on the verge of YA?), but the story, which is deceptively simple, is fantastic because Stargirl (yep, that’s her name!) is an amazing character. Basically, Stargirl’s family moves to Mica, Arizona, where Stargirl, the free-est of free spirits, turns the small town on its head.

. . . By then most of us had decided that we liked having her around. We found ourselves looking forward to coming to school, to seeing what bizarre antic she’d be up to. She gave us something to talk about. She was entertaining.

At the same time, we held back. Because she was different. Different. We had no one to compare her to, no one to measure her against. She was unknown territory. Unsafe. We were afraid to get too close.

Guys, if Stargirl were a sewing blogger, we would all adore her.

6 thoughts on “Me-Made-May ’13: Day 8

  1. Love this dress, POCKETS!! Lol. But, I have to say, in the first pic I was unable to focus on you due to your kitty visible in the pic, having snacks and stealing the show!! Kitties….

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

