A Muchly Belated “Thank You”

During my time away at Bridesmaid Dress Boot Camp, I received not one but two Liebster Awards! I have received this award once before bringing me to a total of three Liebsters. (Is there an award for most Liebsters received? Because I would like to be in the running for that. . . )

First I would like to thank Amber at Miss Parayim. If you haven’t seen her adorable Matryoshka dress, you really ought to. And she shares my concern for a seeming lack of young sewists in the area (girl, I think we might have been at the same Sewing Expo!)

Amber would like to know:

1. What is your favorite fabric to sew?

Cotton sateen, most definitely. And pretty much all the other cotton comes in second.

2. What kind of machine do you use?

I’m still on my “starter” machine, and it’s served me pretty well (over all). It’s a Brother CP6500.

3. Show me a picture of your sewing space!

This is just a corner of my bedroom.

This is just a corner of my bedroom.

This is the card table that I roll in and out when a need a workspace.

This is the card table that I roll in and out when a need a workspace.

4. What inspires you?

Well, I really don’t know. Sometimes I see fabric and I immediately know what it needs to become. Sometimes it all starts with a pattern. Occasionally, I’ll see a picture in a catalog or on a website (usually Anthropologie or Modcloth) that I really like–but not very often.

5. What is your favorite pattern?

I can’t say that I really have one. Though, I did love the pattern I used for the bridesmaid dresses which I plan to blog about in the near future. I plan to make one for myself!

6. What is your favorite thing you’ve made?

Hands down, the dress I wore to my friend’s wedding last Sunday. But I haven’t blogged about it yet.

7. Least favorite?

Oh, man–so many to choose from. . . Well, counting only things that I actually completed, probably my Beignet–it just doesn’t look great on me. Though, I’m thinking of attempting it in a different fabric.

8. How long have you been sewing?

Since last March (2012). I had sewn some before that–I made two costumes and some pillows–but I didn’t really start to pursue it seriously until last year.

9. What’s your favorite sewing tip or trick?

Never, ever sew when you’re tired or frustrated. It can only end badly. If you’re about to reach the point where you want to throw your sewing machine out the window, for Pete’s sake, WALK AWAY.

10. What do you want to make next?

All the things. But mostly, I’d like to finish the dress I’m working on now so I can start on the next (which I’m kind of excited about).

And I’d also like to thank Helen at Grosgrain Green! I absolutely adore her contribution to the Nautical Craft Swap (gotta get me some lobster fabric!) and I really love her Violet Blouse (that she really ought to blog about because I would like to know what kind of fabric that is 🙂 ).

Helen would like to know: (Psst, questions that I answered above, I skipped below.)

1. Why did you start sewing/making?

I was on Pinterest, and I found a link to Mena Trott’s “Make This Look” page. From there, I started reading other sewing blogs and I knew it was a universe I needed to be a part of.

2. What’s your favourite part of sewing/making?

I love modifying and adjusting patterns–for some reason, all the drawing and cutting and taping is fun for me. I also love dreaming up and applying details. Really, watching all the separate pieces become one garment is always very satisfying.

3. And least favourite?

Cutting. Interfacing. Pretty much all the stuff you have to do before you can actually start sewing. I don’t HATE it, I just don’t enjoy it. Also, sleeves.

4. Who is your muse/style idol/style inspiration/style crush? Can be real or fictional. Famous or civilian.

I honestly don’t have one. I do love Regency era gowns–I have a great desire to make a cropped jacket like the one Emma wears to Box Hill in the BBC’s recent version of Emma (with Roma Garalai and Jonny Lee Miller–my fave version!).

5. What is your make?

I think this was supposed to say “proudest make.” My copy and paste might have gone a little wonky. Or I got crazy with the delete button. Anyways. . . hmmmm. . . Well, though it didn’t turn out like I wanted, my Sew for Victory dress was still a pretty great accomplishment. And though it is no more, I’m still happy with all I learned.

6. And least proud?

It might end up being the dress I’m currently working on. We’ll see. . .

7. What’s your sewing/making bete noire? Your biggest challenge, or the thing you’ve been putting off?

Pants and jackets. Not that I’m afraid to try them, but that I’m just not that interested right now. I do have a jacket that I want to make (and some fabric for a first go), but it’s about to be summer and I just don’t wanna. And I’m so over pants right now. . . I’ve never owned a pair that actually fit and the shorts I’ve made weren’t satisfactory. Right now, I’m all about the dresses and I’m happy to stay that way.

9. Do you have any other hobbies, other than sewing/making?

I love to read and write. I also would really like to get into gardening. I guess I could also say theater, but I haven’t done anything in the past few years. Trivia: I have a Masters in Interpretive Speech.

Thanks again, Helen and Amber! So sweet of you to share the love 🙂

As you know, I am terrible at coming up with people to nominate. But, I have given myself a deadline. By the end of June, I will pass on all the awards that I have received. I promise.

9 thoughts on “A Muchly Belated “Thank You”

  1. I don’t think I knew we were in the same area (or maybe I did, but forgot)! How neat! We both got bitten by the sewing bug at the same time too!
    I love your bedroom wall color 🙂

    • Every time I find another sewing blogger who lives nearby, I get a little giddy–it’s like an Easter egg hunt!

      Thanks–I do, too 😉

  2. Yay! I’m glad you were able to answer my questions, and I can’t believe you’ve only been sewing for a year or so! That’s amazing, considering what you’ve been making!
    I will aim to blog about my Violet blouse really soon! But in the meantime, the fabric is what I’d call a dobby spot (think this might be the same as swiss dot?).

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

