Me-Made-May ’13: Day 6

Me-Made-May is about second chances. For instance, this top. . .

MMM6-2

Is not my favorite. It is a “wearable” muslin. It was not originally meant to be wearable because I really didn’t like the fabric. (It’s a muslin of New Look 6808, by the way.) But, upon trying on the muslin, I thought maybe the fabric wasn’t so bad after all. So, I added the bias tape and hemmed it.

In this case, my first impression was right.

Besides having a rather unfortunate print, it is also a very thin polyester, which makes it too warm to wear in the summer and too cool to wear in the winter. And I don’t love it with cardis.

This is how I've been wearing it today. A grumpy sweater and cheap little flip-flops (I wear these around the house. Wearing them in public is not acceptable.)

This is how I’ve been wearing it today. A grumpy sweater and cheap little flip-flops (I wear these around the house. Wearing them in public is not acceptable.)

I know. I’m being a little picky, I think.

But, I think I gave it a fair chance. I’ve been wearing it all day. I’ve been warm enough (with the sweater) and comfortable enough. But it’s unlikely that I’ll ever wear it anywhere other than around the house.

And Oliver. He's grumpy because I woke him up.

And Oliver. He’s grumpy because I woke him up.

Top: New Look 6808 (muslin)

Today’s book: Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh

MMM6-4

You know, coming up with 27 different ways to pose with a book. . . not as easy as you might think.

Most of my favorite books that I’ll be sharing with you are ones that I have discovered as an adult. But this one I first read (and read, and read again) when I was a kid. Harriet, an eleven-year-old aspiring writer, spends her free time sneaking around and watching some of the odd characters in her neighborhood–a man with about twenty cats, a rich lady who pretends to be an invalid, and a Hispanic family that owns a grocery store, to name a few. She writes her thoughts and notes in a journal that she always carries with her.

“Writers don’t care what they eat. They just care what you think of them.”

I really believe that my own love of journaling, which eventually became my love of blogging, can be traced back to Harriet the Spy. Though, her journals are far more hilarious (and daring!) than mine. 

6 thoughts on “Me-Made-May ’13: Day 6

  1. oh wow! i’m just catching up on your MMM wears and holy moly woman! you have a super colorful self-made wardrobe, I’m jell-o!

    I love discovering new-old-books in adulthood. I almost want to go back to my high school English reading list so I can better appreciate what I didn’t really understand back then.

    • Haha! Thanks 🙂

      I totally agree. When I was in college, I skimmed a lot of my required reading. The past few years, I’ve really tried to go back and read those books properly. Really, part of the reason I wanted to share my favorite books was to sort of rekindle my love of reading. I’ve been such a literary slacker recently–too much sewing to be done 🙂

  2. I really like the print on this blouse, although if it’s polyester I can imagine it’s probably not that nice to wear. It looks pretty though! 🙂

    • Honestly, it’s more garish in person. I definitely toned down the saturation a bit–to save everyone’s eyes! I do like the shape, though–so if I had some extra lawn or voile lying around, I’d love to make another one just like this.

  3. I also used to read Harriet the Spy! I think the fabric is adorable! But, yes, you can always see things differently on camera than you do in reality.

    • Oh, you guys have no idea. . . you might have to trust me on this one 😉
      Love Harriet! I would have totally been BFFs with her. You know. . . if she were real. . .

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

