Me-Made-May ’13: Day 2

Guys, I am not in love with this outfit. So, if you hate it, I’m right there with you.

This is the first time I’ve worn my Beignet–which I actually haven’t blogged yet. I should probably do that at some point. . .

Ugh--another cloudy day.

Ugh–another cloudy day.

I actually knew I wouldn’t love this one, so I decided to get it out of the way early in the month. I don’t want to talk too much about the issues with the skirt here. I’d rather keep this post short and chat about the skirt later.

Drunk? Or did I just discover my lining creeping out?

Drunk? Or did I just discover my lining creeping out?

But, for me, Me-Made-May is all about trying new combos and seeing what works and what doesn’t.

Top: New Look 6808
Skirt: Colette Beignet
(The scarf around my waist was my grandmother’s. It looks to have a hand-rolled hem.)

MMM2-3

And today’s featured book: The Little Prince, by Antoine de Saint-Exupery.

Grown-ups love figures. . . . Just so, you might say to them: ‘The proof that the little prince existed is that he was charming, that he laughed, and that he was looking for a sheep. If anybody wants a sheep, that is a proof that he exists.” And what good would it do to tell them that? They would shrug their shoulders, and treat you like a child. But if you said to them: “The planet he came from is Asteroid B-612,” then they would be convinced, and leave you in peace from their questions.

They are like that. One must not hold it against them. Children should always show great forbearance toward grown-up people.

Is there a more charming story than that of the Little Prince who gets annoyed with a rose on his home planet and so sets out on a journey via space seagulls and ultimately ends up in the African desert where he meets Saint-Exupery who has crash landed there?

No, there isn’t.

“If someone loves a flower, of which just one single blossom grows in all the millions and millions of stars, it is enough to make him happy just to look at the stars. He can say to himself: ‘Somewhere, my flower is there. . . ‘”

8 thoughts on “Me-Made-May ’13: Day 2

  1. I like this outfit, you look great! Interested to hear the issues with your Beignet. I wasn’t very happy with mine – it was like a weird cross between an A-line and a pencil which didn’t suit me AT ALL. I took it in a bit but still don’t love it. Shame as they take so long to sew…

    That New Look blouse is adorable as well.

    • Thank you!
      I think the big problem with the Beignet for me is that I have such a short waist–so it makes me look like I have absolutely no torso at all! I really should have seen that one coming. . .

  2. I like this outfit too. The colours go well together. I don’t have the Beignet as I have the Kelly instead and I think they are similar (although sounds like the Kelly might be much easier to make!)

    • Oooh–I really like the Kelly and have seriously considered making one (I’m dreaming of one in chambray), but I’m wondering if I’d end up having the same issues.

  3. I like this outfit, think you look really great! Not sure why you don’t love it, but you are the one wearing it, so have to be comfortable. I also love your embroidery hoop art!

    • Thank you! The skirt just wasn’t very comfortable–but I think that’s my fault for picking such a bulky fabric.

      The wall art took me forever! Because I was trying to make it look effortless 😉 But thanks–I really like how it’s looking.

    • Thank you! The Beignet really needs a belt, I think. And since I didn’t have a skinny one (and really didn’t like the idea of the fabric belt) I had to improvise!

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

