Me-Made-May ’13: Day One

So it begins. My first Me-Made-May.

I had originally planned to do a weekly round up every Saturday so you guys wouldn’t be innundated with my posts. But I decided it would be more fun (for me) to do a baby postlette every day. Besides, you don’t have to read them if you don’t want to! I’ll never know!

I also decided that it would be boring (again, for me) to just post a picture of my outfits. I’m no fashionista (confession: I hate that term), so my outfits aren’t going to be terribly inspiring.

So, I thought I’d take the chance to share with you one of my other loves: reading. Each day, along with my outfit, I’m going to tell you about one of my favorite books (or book series, if I’m feeling cheaty).

And here we go!

Grumpy. Because it's Wednesday.

Grumpy. Because it’s Wednesday.

Today I wore All the Colors.

MMM1-2

The cardi is necessary because the store where I work is freezing freezing freezing.

MMM1-3

The pockets turned out to be very useful. Though the stitching is coming undone.

MMM1-Secret GardenTop: Sorbetto

Skirt: Simplicity 2564

Book: The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

All my life (at least since I first read this book) I have longed for a secret garden of my own. Also a Dickon to be friends with. Of course, I have decided that my secret garden will also have weeping angel statues (Doctor Who fans–you know what I mean) because I also want to be a little terrified.

17 thoughts on “Me-Made-May ’13: Day One

  1. What a lovely idea with the books! I love the colours in your outfit, and I too love that book. Not sure I agree about the weeping angels though – I find them too terrifying!

    • Thanks–I’m glad you like the book idea. I was a tad worried that people would be annoyed with it, but in the end, it’s my blog and I do what I want! 🙂
      I know that someday I’ll find myself in my garden just at twilight and manage to trick myself into thinking that the statues have moved and then be too terrified to look away. . . But still–I have to have them!

      • I’m scared of real statues (and dolls and shop mannequins and basically anything human-shaped, that’s not actually human) for that exact reason! I feel like Stephen Moffat dreamt up that monster specifically for me!

  2. So pretty! I think that Sorbetto is just lovely. And I LURVE “The Secret Garden.” I’m going to make The Hubs build me one someday. Rose swing, here I come!

    • Thanks 🙂

      Here’s what I do: I put my hair in a pony tail. Then I spritz it all over with a little hairspray just to give it some texture. I use a fine tooth comb to tease it until it’s ENORMOUS. Then I wrap it around my hand and pull it into a knot. After I secure it with bobby pins, I try to rough it up a little. Then I spray it again. It doesn’t always cooperate–my hair is pretty thin and silky. It helps if it’s been braided or curled the day before.

  3. Love this outfit! It’s so colorful and fun! I’m excited to hear about your favorite books! You reminded me that I’ve never finished “The Secret Garden” (I started it when I was 8 or 9, then my mom decided it was too “New Age”, LOL!). But I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t want any weeping angels in my garden– too scary!

    • Oh, wow–that’s the first time I’ve heard The Secret Garden called “new age!” Ha! Just so you know, it all ends very happily–just in case you’ve been wondering all these years! 😉

      I love the weeping angels; their scariness is what makes them awesome.

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

