Jumping Right Off the Bridge

Oh, hey!

Man, I’ve been busy! Totally didn’t mean to take a little blog sabbatical, but sometimes you’ve got to get your priorities straight. It’s only been, like, a week, or maybe ten days, so. . .

Wait. . . what?

month???

What the crappity crap happened to my April???

I’ll tell you what happened to my April.

A wedding. That’s what.

The festivities were yesterday during a rainstorm that just didn’t want to give up. So, everyone’s hair was flat–except for two family friends from Florida (originally from Mexico, I believe) whose hair had amazing anti-moisture, volume-retaining super powers. My friend Noelle married a man from Lebanon whom she met while working at an orphanage there a couple of summers ago. So, she’s moving across the world–which is exciting for her, but kind of a bummer for the rest of us.

In unrelated news, I had an Arabic blessing pronounced over me that I might be married very soon. I did not really want this blessing, but the blesser-man was very large and had me and the Maid of Honor cornered. So. . . we’ll see how that works out. I will keep you all informed of any interesting developments.

If you’ve been keeping score at home, you’ve heard me mention a time or two hundred that I had volunteered to make the bridesmaid dresses. There were only two to make, the pattern I chose was simple, and I volunteered back in October. So, I had plenty of time–what could go wrong?

In spite of all my grand intentions, I couldn’t actually get to work on the dresses until after Easter, four weeks before the wedding. After three weeks of pretty solid work days (I was a little ill for a couple of days somewhere in there), excepting the days when I actually go to work, the dresses were complete.

So then, of course, I had to make a dress for myself.

What’s that? You thought I’d already made one? Well, that’s a whole other story.

Let’s just say, I did have a dress to wear to the wedding. I thought it was terribly adorable. I wish I could wear it every day. In fact, it may be making a totally random appearance in Me-Made-May.

That’s right. You heard me. It’s official.

I, Jenny of Bobbins and Whimsy, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’13. I endeavor to wear at least one handmade garment every day (except Saturdays) for the duration of May 2013.

All the cool kids were jumping off the Me-Made-May bridge, and I’m jumping off with them. (Was your childhood as plagued with the “If everyone else were jumping off a bridge, would you do it, too?” question as mine was?) It’s going to be interesting. And maybe a little weird.

I’m striving for no outfit repeats, but I’m not sure how that will go. I am planning to try mixing things up a little and wearing outfits I haven’t put together before. I’m taking Saturdays off because I generally spend my Saturdays at home cleaning or rambling outside. Or sewing, of course. If something interesting happens, I’ll try to document it.

But, I can’t make any promises. I had both my camera and my phone at the wedding yesterday, and guess how many pictures I took. Just guess.

(Hint: ZERO.)

Here’s the one picture I have because my friend Hunter was trying out my camera (and it’s not even of the actual wedding):

That's not the dress I made. Just so you know.

That’s not the dress I made. Just so you know.

So. Much. Glamour.

I’ll see y’all later. I’ll be back with some people to thank and questions to answer.

5 thoughts on “Jumping Right Off the Bridge

  1. LOL! Oh, procrastination… there’s just no way to beat it, is there? There’s basically no way to avoid sewing at the last minute for events.

    Anxiously waiting for your wedding announcement! 😉 That’s really too funny… I love the mental picture of you slowly backing away from a determined large man intent on uttering a getting-hitched blessing. Hilarious!

    • I know–and I tried so hard, too! At least I wasn’t hemming on the day of or anything–though I did have to finish hemming my own dress that morning. But that doesn’t count, right? 😉

      It was a truly awkward moment. There was a bit of a language barrier, and I wasn’t sure if he was kidding or coming on to the MoH or what!

  2. I was wondering where you had gone!

    hahahahaha I laughed out loud too re: the blessing, but part of me believes that maybe that’s all it takes(?). Maybe you’ll be designing and making your wedding gown soon! 🙂

    I’m uber jealous of all the MMM pledges I keep seeing. Unfortunately, I don’t think I’ve made enough wearable garments to make it even 3 days. But I shall spectate and support the community (<– MMM cheerleader/bench warmer). Can't wait to see the outfits!

    • Things like that tend to happen to me at weddings! I’m a magnet for awkward conversations.

      I didn’t think I could do MMM either, but (and this is how much of a nerd I am) I pulled out a calendar and all the clothes I’ve made and started making outfits and assigning them to different days. With some “interesting” mix and matching, I figured I could make it work. I was very surprised! I’m sorry you won’t be joining us, but I can understand that it wouldn’t be very fun if you felt like you were wearing the same things over and over. I hope you’ll get to do it next year!

      • hahaha I love the nerd in you and I can’t wait to see all your pre-planned combos. But yes, I definitely hope to take part in MMM next year.

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

