Seven Things

1. Thank you to everyone who offered a fabric opinion last week! I am muchly grateful for your insights and snail-love 🙂 I have already chosen and received my fabric. Since I feel that my life needs a little more flair, I’ll keep my choice secret until the “grand reveal” that I really hope will happen on time (March is just zipping on by and I’m like “whoa there!”).

2. Thank you to MacStabby (best name ever!) of Crafternoon Nap who nominated me for some lovely blog awards (seriously, y’all–wouldn’t it be fun to have our own blogging Oscars? Like a for real we all get gussied up and get together for an evening of awesome??? It would also, of course, be extraordinarily silly. But, seriously–someone get on that. . . ) which was super sweet of her.

Generally, blog awards come with conditions: namely, you have to answer questions and nominate other people. This time, I’ll selectively answer questions, but thinking of other people to nominate requires more brain than I have to give right now. Someday, I’m going to pass on all these awards. Maybe I’ll even make up a new one. Ooooh. I like that idea.

But for now, questions.

1. What is a favorite book or series that you can read over and over?

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass, The Chronicles of Narnia, absolutely anything by Sharon Creech (who commented on my old blog once and absolutely made my year) or Neal Shusterman, I really love Ally Carter if I want to give my brain a rest but I also want to get all excited. James Thurber or P. G. Wodehouse if I want some classy hilarity. If you want, you can read about my top ten favorite books here (I miss writing that blog sometimes, but no time to read these days).

9.  What is your favorite James Bond movie, and why? Who is your favorite Bond? (If you say Timothy Dalton, you’re dead to me.)

Daniel Craig. No question. And, yes, I have seen the other Bond movies, so, no, I’m not like a fourteen year old girl who doesn’t realize there were Bonds before him. Also, I really liked Quantum of Solace because. . . I really don’t know why. I was just way into it.

11. Do you think you currently have the skills needed to survive the zombie apocalypse?

Well, the only thing I really have going for me is that I’m a trained actor (as in, I have a couple of degrees that involved acting classes) and I can also do stage makeup–so if we assume that zombies only attack humans that act or look like humans, I may be able to fool them with all my theater skills. Otherwise, I’m probably a goner.

And those are all the questions I’m going to do. Like I said, someday I’ll nominate other people. I promise!

3. In unrelated sewing news, I found a pattern for my Sewing for Victory dress! It’s not exact, but I actually like some parts of it better than the inspiration dress. I may keep the pattern a secret. Then again, I may need help with the collar. So. . . stay tuned.

4. My S2444 muslin continues to pester me. The bodice seems to fit really well, but the sleeves refuse to cooperate! They’re tight across the bicep (or rather, just above the bicep. Is that the shoulder?) but there’s too much ease in the front for reasons that I do not understand. But, thanks to help from Maddie, I have made some major progress with my sloper! I’m about to make my second muslin. After that, I may jump into drafting sleeves. We shall see. Actually, I’m going to give both undertakings a rest while I sew like a storm trooper for my friend’s wedding.

5. What the crap, Google Reader?!? Grrr. . .

I have been oh-so-slowly transferring all my subscriptions over to Bloglovin. I’m just sad about Google Reader’s demise because it was soooo easy to subscribe thanks to the button I was able to add to my toolbar. Is there a toolbar button for Bloglovin?

Update: Bloglovin has a quickie import option–hurray! I do wish I had seen that earlier. But, if you need to switch readers, Bloglovin will make it easy for you! Just a quick PSA 🙂

6. VERONICA MARS MOVIE!!! I’M GETTING A T-SHIRT!!!! I’M GOING TO TURN IT INTO A CAMI!!!

7. Last Friday, my Quilting Friend and I went to the Original Sewing and Quilt Expo here in the Atlanta area. I decided that while I was there I should take a class. And since I had been struggling with the sleeves on my S2444 bodice, I decided to take a Fitting Shoulders class. The lady wrote down the room number on my ticket. I went to the room. Asked, “Is this room whatever?” at the door. The lady said, “yes.” I sat down inside with about thirty-five older women who seemed to all know each other. The most fantastically intimidating lady (it was Cynthia Guffy) walked in, asked what class we were expecting, everyone (except me) said “blouse-making techniques” and while I was still trying to figure out where I went wrong, she launched into the most fascinating tirade about that bump you get at the top of your front band on your button-up blouse. And then I learned lots of awesome things–things which I will be able to use very soon!! So, it was a pretty fortunate mistake, after all.

Okay, y’all. I plan to accomplish All the Things tomorrow, so that means I need to go ahead and shut it down.

Happy Sewing, Friendlies.

2 thoughts on “Seven Things

  1. I can’t wait to see which fabric you chose! I think I may have voted twice because the first time I didn’t see “who” was winning. So to see, I had to vote again. Sorry, I’m a cheater. 😉

    I guess I came in so late in the game that I don’t even know what google reader is. I know, gasp. But I’ve been using Bloglovin’ and I like it a lot. I think because I like the name, it reminds me of McLovin’.

    I love the serendipitous story in #7. I love when that happens!

    I admire you for keeping at the S2444 muslin. I honestly would have given up by now. Happy Friday!

    • Thanks 🙂 Happy Friday to you, too!
      RE S2444: It’s just pure stubbornness at work. I’ve lost to too many patterns already, and I REFUSE to be beaten by another Simplicity!

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

