Jenny’s Technicolor DreamQuilt

Y’all, I’m super tired of talking about myself.

Therefore, I’m so very, very pleased to be able to brag on someone else for a change 🙂

I work with one of the loveliest of ladies. Not only is she my commiserating partner in crime, but she also is an enormous encouragement, in sewing and in life. Last year, she took a quilting class and straight away set to work making quilts for her family. And wouldn’t you know it–she “adopted” me!

A few weeks before Christmas, we made plans to visit one of Atlanta’s many quilting stores. To be honest, it was a harrowing experience. Quilting/fabric stores round these parts like to close at impossible hours. Normally I’m off work soon after 5:00 and the store closed at 6:00 giving us a very little bit of time to get through the traffic. Unfortunately, we had some late shoppers, so I didn’t leave until about 5:20.

Now, I’m a fairly timid person with a please-no-one-get-upset-with-me attitude, so when we arrived at the quilt shop right at 6:00, I was perfectly fine with trying again another day. But, they were still open and let us come in–which was very nice of them. This particular store has an enormous and adorable selection–not so great for when you need to make several decisions and fast.

So, I began to pick and choose and hem and haw and second guess all while feeling loads of pressure to just pick something. One of the shop ladies was helping us–well, she was trying. She kept pulling out fabrics that were not speaking to me. And she did not approve of the fabrics that I was picking. She was gracious enough to say that it really just depends on the individual. But she did roll her eyes–I saw her.

Let’s not forget, however, that we were there way after closing. Fabric disapproval or not, I should have sent them a thank you note!

But, you be the judge. . .

As soon as I laid the quilt out to take pictures, the cats magically appeared. I got tired of fighting them off, so they got to stay.

As soon as I laid the quilt out to take pictures, the cats magically appeared. I got tired of fighting them off, so they got to stay.

The quilting itself is very simple, which I think was a good choice due to the busyness of all the prints. She used some variegated thread in shades of blue and green (my fave!) to do the quilting.

Variegated Thread

The backing is muslin. With all the noise on the front, we both felt that something simple and quiet was the way to go on the back.

Muslin Backing

I think she did an excellent job pairing up the crazy fabrics I picked.

Quilt Block 2

Quilt Block 1

Quilt Block 3

And I love the small border she chose–it really pulls out the chartreuse hidden in all the purples and blues and, if such a thing is possible, brightens up the whole quilt 🙂

Quilt Block and Small Border

I’m not really into quilting myself (I have so many other projects going on that adding a quilt would be madness!), but I can definitely see the appeal. You get to pick lots of fun fabrics you love and put them all together in a way that you never could in a garment–you know, unless you want to look like you’re sporting Joseph’s Technicolor Dreamcoat!

Me? That’s not how I roll.

But, I absolutely adore this quilt!

So does Oliver.

So does Oliver.

Just a word about S2444 (aren’t you so tired of hearing about this? If so, feel free to skip to the end.), one tiny little bit of experimentation left. Really, more like practice. It’s something I know how to do, but I need to get it right a couple of times before I try it on my lovely chambray. I hope that next week I’ll have some pretty things to show you!

And finally, have you mapped yourself yet? All the cool kids are doing it! You know you wanna!

So how are you all? I feel like everyone’s gotten super busy–I know I have! What are you working on these days?

Also, if I hear the McDonald’s “Fishy, Fishay” commercial one more time, I will probably strangle someone. . .

14 thoughts on “Jenny’s Technicolor DreamQuilt

  1. This is lovely!
    I don’t quilt either, but I’m off to a quilting exhibition this weekend with my mum. I’d love to make a quilt for our bed, but really, really, really don’t have the time just now. One day… in the meantime, I’ll just go to look at pretty fabrics and be amazed!

  2. We think like garment sewers 🙂 This is why it is hard for us to put together quilts that have some cohesiveness. I am still not giving up on quilting, but I tend to go the Amish colors route…they are easier to put together 🙂 Your quilt is quite lovely…lively and fun!

    • Thank you!
      Yes, my quilting friend has talked often of how she carefully chooses her colors to make sure everything will work the way she wants it to. I took all that information in and then threw it out the window 🙂 I just went with my fancy, I think. But, that’s what makes each quilt so unique–it reflects the personality of the one who made it!

  3. Oh, I love it! Those colors all go so great together.

    I do hand quilting. The hand quilting itself is my favorite part of the project. I’ve been working on one quilt for months and I’m starting another top. I’m between clothes sewing projects right now and trying to decide what to sew next.

  4. I bought my new sewing machine from a quilt shop/dealer and I’ve had five sessions there to get to know the machine. My awe of quilters grows every time I’m there and see something new. Are you hooked on quilting now or will this be your only foray into that magical world? You made a beautiful quilt the first time out!

    • Thanks! I actually didn’t make this quilt–a friend of mine made it for me. I just picked out the fabric. But, I can tell you that SHE is addicted to quilting now! I think quilting would be fun, but I have so many things going on right now that it would be silly to try to add something else.

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

