No, I’m Not Going to Send You Underwear Through the Mails. Sorry.

When I was in something like 8th or 9th grade, my cousin (or possibly some friend from far away) sent me a chain letter. Now, we’ve probably all received some sort of chain letter/email that either 1) promises great fortune if you forward to 200 of your closest friends, 2) promises oodles of replies if you write seventeen letters and eight postcards and mail then with thirty greeting cards that are stamped and blah blah blah. . .  or 3) predicts dire consequences if you Break the Chain. This particular chain letter (it was an actual letter from the post–this is before email was a thing) included a breezy little explanation of how much fun I was going to have if I participated and a list of about eight names and addresses including my cousin’s (who sent me the letter, I think).

The letter requested that I send each of those eight girls a gift. What gift you ask? Well, what gift would you most want to receive from someone you’ve never met?

Underwear. Naturally.

Yes. I was supposed to send a pair of frilly unmentionables to each of these strange girls  (+ one cousin) and I in turn was supposed to end up receiving over thirty pairs of underwear from girls who received the letter from girls who received the letter from girls who received the letter from girls who received the letter from me. (If you really want to, you can figure out the math. I’m not going to.)

Chain letters. Oy!

Which brings me to the award I most recently received. The Liebster Award! Woo-hoo!

Liebster Award

I was nominated by the lovely Lyndsey of Sew Another Day who, I believe, is a very new blogger who is teaching herself to sew. Everybody say, “Hi, Lyndsey!” She’s also thinking about making what I think is going to be a pretty fantastic quilt!

I was reminded of my chain letter experience (by the way, even my 13 year old self knew a scam when she saw one), when Lyndsey mentioned that this award seems to work like a chain letter. This casual statement led to a tumble down the rabbit hole of the interwebs in a search for answers.

It all started when I saw the award image above. Now, I’ve seen the Liebster award being passed around, but this image seemed different than I remembered. I asked the Google about it and found that there are dozens of different Liebster awards floating around out there. Which got me to thinking–if there are so many different award images, are there actually all different Liebster awards that are being shared? And more importantly, which one is the real one? 

As it turns out, I am not the first to ask this question. Many others have gone before me searching for the fabled origins of the Liebster Award. The closest anyone has gotten, it seems, is Miss Sopphey Says who traced it back to this German blog (thank goodness for Google translate!) who was also not the originator, but seems to be the oldest recorded recipient (if you click on her “thank you” link it takes you to an empty sort of blog–it was a little creepy. . . ).

What is most interesting is not just that the award image has evolved over the years, but so have the rules. Today, the award is given to bloggers with 200 or fewer followers. The rules are to 1) link back to the awarder 2) Share 11 facts about yourself. 3) Answer the awarder’s 11 questions. 4) Nominate 11 baby blogs. And 5) Ask 11 questions of your own.

In my research I’ve seen all the numbers change. But based on the German blog mentioned above, the original rules were to thank the nominator and nominate 3-5 blogs with 3000 or fewer followers. No questions. No facts. And, frankly, a lot less fuss.

And this was the original award icon:

Liebster Blog Award

 

Well, we all know how I am about rules–if you don’t know. . . well. . . rules are not the boss  of me 🙂 But, I will be a fairly good girl and answer some of Lyndsey’s questions.

1. What do you look for in a blog, what interests you? Like one topic in particular per blog or do you like a blog with a range of things?

I tend to like blogs that stay pretty focussed on one topic. Right now, sewing is my favorite topic to read about but I also enjoy movie and book reviews and some crafty DIY decor type blogs. I’ll read about people’s crocheting and knitting even though it’s totally over my head. I like simple design that isn’t too cluttered–and definitely fun colors! I absolutely will NOT read a blog with terrible type (You know, like the ones with white type on a black background?). I love blogs with great pictures and lots of personality!

2. What inspired you to start a blog?

All you fabulous sewing bloggers! Long before I even owned a sewing machine, I started reading sewing blogs and you all seemed to be having so much fun and making such beautiful things. I was just dying to be a part of it 🙂

8. What is your greatest achievement?

I have a master’s in Interpretive Speech–essentially it’s a theater degree (no I do not nor have I ever held a job in a theater. . . sigh), and to earn the degree, I had to research and write a one-person production and perform it. It had to be based on a historical figure, so I chose Abigail Adams (who is a fabulous character, by the way) focussing on the overlooked sacrifices she made as the colonies fought for independence. It was about an hour long and went very well (I got an A 🙂 ). Funny thing is, I actually made myself a Revolutionary Era gown to wear–and this was before I knew anything about sewing. I could sew seams and such, but this was (in hindsight) a terribly ambitious project. The bodice was lined and had boning–so crazy! I still have it somewhere and if I find it, I’ll definitely share pictures. It actually turned out surprisingly well.

Anyway, I’m pretty proud of that whole process. It was challenging and fun–and terribly stressful!

And those are all the questions I’m going to answer. I haven’t got interesting answers for the other ones. I’m not going to share facts about myself. It’s probably better that I let the crazy continue to leak out slowly. I’m not asking any questions because I’m awfully sleepy. And I’m also not going to nominate 11 people right now. Instead, I’m going to choose five people, and I’m going to choose them slowly and thoughtfully and spread them out over some time. There’s no need to rush!

So, thanks so much to Lyndsey 🙂 And thank you to my followers/subscribers/friends–you guys make the blogging process such much more interesting and fun!

7 thoughts on “No, I’m Not Going to Send You Underwear Through the Mails. Sorry.

  1. What a great entry! I enjoyed reading your thoughts 😛
    And just to let you know the image you’ve used isn’t the Liebester award, it’s just a banner I made for it of the things I mention in my blog answers (those are my beautuful cats!) But you’re not the first to use it, so don’t worry.
    Congrats on your degree!

    • Haha–thanks for setting me straight 🙂 But I bet the banner you created will start floating around now–and people will wonder the meaning of all the pictures you used. You started a thing! Someday, someone will be trying to trace the origins of that button!

  2. Wow – I love the effort you have put into this. honestly I would never have thought to have gone into so much detail to research it but it is amazing to know! Either way you clearly deserve the recognition of the award, so a huge congratulations, and also I think it is really nice that you have been able to take it back to its roots (or as near to) and receive the award in the intent it was originally created. Makes it more meaningful I think 😀 xXx

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

