The Shirt Dress of my First Sew-Along (Pictures!)

More long-overdue pictures today, Friendlies!

I love this picture because it has that "Once upon a time, in a land far, far away. . . " feel to it.

I love this picture because it has that “Once upon a time, in a land far, far away. . . ” feel to it.

Simplicity 1880

Truth be told, I was never a fan of this fabric. A kelly green would have been a better color on me, I think.

Yes, that's a Tilly's Bow Belt there. I'm wearing it backwards. I just wasn't much in the mood for bows that day, but the dress really needs a belt to complete it.

Yes, that’s a Tilly’s Bow Belt there. I’m wearing it backwards. I just wasn’t much in the mood for bows that day, but the dress really needs a belt to complete it.

Another pretty bit of far away.

Another pretty bit of far away.

It has lining. I guess I felt it was important for you to see.

It has lining. I guess I felt it was important for you to see.

Truth be told, I never was a fan of this fabric. A kelly green would have been a better choice, I think.

One of my favorite features of this dress is the skirt. Look how prettily it pools!

A rare moment of exuberance.

A rare moment of exuberance.

You can read more about the construction process here and here.

10 thoughts on “The Shirt Dress of my First Sew-Along (Pictures!)

    • Thanks! It was just at sunset, and the field was already sort of golden because it was late October. It made for a very lovely backdrop 🙂

    • Thank you 🙂 Looking at these pics, I think I’d really like to revisit this pattern with better fabric–I’d probably be much happier with it then.

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

