New Year, New Lazy Girl Pants

On New Year’s Day, as we began to take down Christmas decorations and give the house a good cleaning, I decided I needed a new pair of loungy pants to wear while working around the house.

I already had these:

Workin' it.

Workin’ it.

Yes, they look pretty rough, but I have had them for about ten years now. I wear them a lot because they are perfect–no, I know they are terribly unattractive. But they are long and loose, and they stay on comfortably thanks to the drawstring. But, over the years they’ve begun to pill and get stained, especially at the hem. This does not stop me from wearing them pretty much constantly.

I would have tossed these on New Year’s Day, but my niece-ling had smeared blackberry jam all over my right leg, so they were waiting to be washed. What I needed was a fresh pair of loungy pants that fit just like the pink ones.

What to do?

Well, I remembered reading this post from Sunni about using the rub-off method to copy a cardi, and I decided to give it a try on my pants.

It was very simple. I used a cardboard box which I opened and laid flat so I could stick pins in it. I laid the tracing paper on top of it and my pants on top of the paper. I then pushed pins along each of the seam lines piece by piece. Really, I only needed to do one front pant leg and one back. I pulled all the pins out, removed the pants, and used the pinholes to trace the shape of both pieces. Then I added 3/8″ seam allowance.

In my native environment

The waistband is just a couple of rectangles folded in half lengthwise. I put a couple of small buttonholes on the front waistband piece. The drawstring is just two very long skinny pieces sewn together and then sewn right sides together lengthwise. If you don’t know this bobby pin trick for turning small tubes, then I don’t know how you manage! Well–I’m sure you manage just fine, but that tip really saved me!

New Slouchy Pants, Topstitching and drawstring

I did decide to add pockets to my version as there have been many times when wearing the pink pants that I wished I had somewhere to keep my lip balm or my phone when wandering around the house. I used a pocket pattern I made for my very first dress. They’re just your basic in-seam pockets.

Slouchy Pants 3

But this brings me to my one issue with these pants–I put the pockets too low and they look weird. They’re still usable and I suppose I could put the ol’ seam ripper to use and fix them, but I just don’t wanna.

In keeping with my unwritten goal to use up my fabric stash, I used some teal-ish ribbed knit (I want to say it’s bamboo? Maybe tencel? Can’t remember now.) that I already had.

I really love how the topstitching turned out under the waistband. I used a triple stretch stitch because I’m not fond of the look of zig-zag topstitching.

New Slouchy Pants, Waistband

And that’s it. I really need about a half-dozen more pairs of these pants because I have worn these non-stop ever since I made them. (Except for right now–they’re finally getting washed. I miss them a little. . . )

Do you have a favorite RTW garment that you’d love a copy of? Have you ever used the rub-off method? Do share!

6 thoughts on “New Year, New Lazy Girl Pants

  1. Oh, yay, perfect lazy pants!! I’m wearing a pair of RTW jams that have a cartoon monkey on them and lettering that says, “These are my lazy pants”. As if that wasn’t obvious.

    Anyway. I have a favorite fleece peacoat/sweater thingy that I’m interested in rubbing off, bu it seems kinda complicated…

    • Monkeys! Maybe it’s a subtle admonition to never wear jammies in public–advice which many people in my town could benefit from 😉
      Oooooh–a sweater peacoat! I like this idea.
      I don’t feel so ready for complicated things either. My fear is that I would miss copying a piece and not realize it until in the middle of construction. Of course, then, all hell would break loose. Naturally.

    • This might be my year to binge. It’s just such a happy thing to make something I really do want to wear all the time! Whether I SHOULD wear them all the time–that’s a whole different matter. . .

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

