The Floral Sundress of Near (Not Really) Perfection (Pictures!)

These pictures are way overdue. I made this dress in the summer and finally took the pictures sometime in October. A couple of weeks ago, photographer buddy and I finally got together to edit.

To be perfectly honest, I am so, so over this dress. It’s cute and all. And it fits. It’s great in the summer. I love the stiffness of the cotton poplin. But I’m over it. I’m over the print. I’m over the lack of pockets. And I’m very over those darts. Also, I think I shortened the waist too much.

But since we took the time to do pictures, I wanted to share them with you.

See? Over it.
I should mention, I suppose, that this is how I wore the dress to work that day: green cardi and red shoes.

Simplicity 2209

Ah–the rare photo in which I am smiling.

Oh, Golden Hour! Fooling us into thinking we are a tiny bit celestial.

Simplicity 2209

That print really makes the terrible darts hard to see. I guess that’s sort of a good thing in this case.

Simplicity 2209

It’s sort of hard to see, but that’s the rosette belt I made to go with the dress. I have since decided that I’m also over cutesy, fabric belts. It’s a learning process!

We actually took a lot more pictures, but I weeded out most of them because I looked terrible and terribly over it. So, sorry these pictures don’t reveal more details!

15 thoughts on “The Floral Sundress of Near (Not Really) Perfection (Pictures!)

    • It is very good consolation, actually πŸ™‚ Thank you! I think that if it weren’t for the crazy darts, I would probably like it much more.

  1. I think the dress is adorable! I know what you mean about being over it though. Sometimes after logging many hours on a project, I’m just not as in to it as I was when I started. No matter how good it turns out. It’s like cooking; after you spend hours making a meal, it just doesn’t taste as good!

    • Thank you! It does make me feel better that at least other people like it.
      You know, when I finish cooking a meal and it doesn’t taste as good, it’s only because I’ve been munching all along the way πŸ™‚

  2. the dress looks really cute on you! love the pics and the setting too! very nice and you should smile in all pictures. πŸ˜€ shame that you are over this dress but I guess that happens. πŸ˜›

    • Thanks! I guess I’m just not a naturally smiley person, so when I smile for pictures I feel a little fake. But that’s a little silly of me, don’t you think? πŸ™‚
      Well–it is January, and I’m not really feeling very floral or very sun-dressy–so maybe I’m just being cold-weather grouchy!

  3. I really love that fabric and the photos are just so lovely, the light is beautiful and golden. But if you just don’t like it, then you just don’t like it. Make something that makes you happy I say!

    • Absolutely! I may have kinder feelings towards this dress come summer, but I choose not to worry about it until then. But, I did learn some worthwhile lessons, so it’s not all loss.
      Thank you, though! It really does make me feel better that other people like it!

    • Thank you! It’s Simplicity 2209–a very cute pattern, but the darts absolutely baffle me! Perhaps you’ll have better luck πŸ™‚

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

