The Elves. . . They Drink A Lot, Yes?

I really should have known better.

But, I think it’s a phase we all have to go through at least once.

After this, I will have learned my lesson.

Of course, I must be talking about. . . Christmas Crafting.

Here’s the thing:

I actually enjoy sewing for other people. Maybe I’m just a giver like that. (Oh, that glow you’re seeing to the south? That’s me and my halo.)

And I also enjoy some crafty sewing. Garment sewing is my first love, of course, but every now and then I like to step out with a little handbag or a clutch. They’re just so much easier; it keeps the spark alive.

And since this is my first Christmas as a sewist, I thought, “Hey–maybe I should make my Christmas gifts!”

And so here we are: a week from Christmas and I’ve barely made a dent in my Christmas Crafting list.

Here’s the other thing:

I’ve really enjoyed working on all these little projects. I find the actual process of making to be relaxing and fun!

The problem is I CAN’T TURN OFF MY BRAIN!!

The planning and sorting and second-guessing and deciding and wondering and problem-solving: it’s driving me mad!

The good news is I think I’ve finally reached a solid plan of action based on the order in which the gifts need to be given.

The other good news is that almost every thing is already cut and ready to be interfaced or iron-on vinyl’d.

The other other good news is that each project is pretty quick, so I can knock out three or four in a day and still have time to vacuum.

Here are some samples I made the past couple of days. They are meant to be makeup bags, which is why I’ve been playing with the vinyl. But, I can’t decide if the wrinkliness of the vinyl makes it worthwhile or worth skipping.

I followed free tutorials for both of these bags, but I will link to them later when I show my finished projects.

I followed free tutorials for both of these bags, but I will link to them later when I show my finished projects.

As you can see, I had some issues following the directions on this one. The fault was mine.

This is the inside of the one on the left. As you can see, I had some issues following the directions on this one. The fault was mine.

And this is the inside of the one on the right. Normally, the rough edges would be covered with bias binding. . . but I wasn't in the mood.

And this is the inside of the one on the right. Normally, the rough edges would be covered with bias binding. . . but I wasn’t in the mood.

You may recognize this fabric (if you do, those are some mad remembering skillz!) from this little project. I had (and still have) lots of it left over, and I don’t think anyone I know will dig it as much as I do. So. . . yay. Lots of a little bags for me.

And now, back to my embroidery. I’ve started on the second pillow of coral, and things are looking a little. . . smudged.

Or I may just go to bed.

2 thoughts on “The Elves. . . They Drink A Lot, Yes?

  1. Hahahahaha! Good luck! I promised myself that I wouldn’t make any Christmas presents this year (being a major procrastinator + really not having time this year = complete chaos), buuuuut as we’re now a week away I’m finding myself with needing to make a top, a cowl, and two pairs of mitts to round out my gift list… yikes! Oh, and then there’s my Mood Sewing Network project to finish, plus of course I want a Christmas dress, oh, and my high school best friend is getting married on the 28th and I have nothing to wear… oh, boy…

    • If there’s anyone who could use some helper elves, I do believe it’s you! Maybe Santa can spare a few? If not, may your needle(s) be swift and flawless 🙂

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

