The Dress That Doesn’t Actually Exist

Greetings, Friendlies!

I’ve come to report on my latest project.

If you remember, I planned to make a version of this dress in black rayon challis. And I did. Mostly. As in, I got all the way to the inserting-the-zipper step, tried the dress on, took the dress off, and wept softly in the corner.

Okay. I didn’t really weep. Maybe just on the inside.

The construction of the dress is not the issue here. The issue is that I am not a skinny little thing like I used to be. Also, this dress really, really, really does not work on those of the short-waist. Alas.

Honestly, even if I did lose, like, twenty pounds, this dress still would look terrible on me. There’s the high waist thing. And there’s the broad shoulder thing (my shoulders are quite a bit wider than the norm. People have commented).

So, if you have diminutive shoulders and a long torso, this dress would probably be super cute on you.

I do think, though, that I might be able to save the project and turn it into something wearable. So, maybe you’ll see it someday.

But, I don’t know when that someday shall be.

There’s some other news that’s making me sad face these days.

I have lost my sewing room. Not as in the room packed its teddy bears and roller skates and ran away from home, but as in the room had to be turned back into a guest room for the holidays and for the foreseeable future. My sewing machine is still set up in the closet, but I won’t be able to use it again until after the weekend. I may set up my little work table in my room and put the ironing board. . . I don’t know. . . somewhere. But you can see how running from room to room is not so conducive to creativity and productivity. I plan now to use my forced hiatus to take over the dining room table and cut out a whole slew of muslins so that I’m ready to go when I get a new space to work in.

But, there’s no need to be dour! The holidays are here and I love the bustle that comes with them πŸ™‚

Except for the traffic. I don’t love that.

Happy Thanksgiving to you all–even if you don’t celebrate this week–I still hope you have a fantastic ThursdayΒ  πŸ™‚

20 thoughts on “The Dress That Doesn’t Actually Exist

  1. It is through these experiences that we learn exactly what looks good on our bodies. Sometimes it is hard to accept, but when you do, you will create something amazing next time. Give yourself the grace to accept your lovely body exactly as it is! Enjoy the next few days and come back ready to sew something else! by the way…I also have broad shoulders and not as thin as I used to be πŸ˜€

    • What a sweet comment πŸ™‚
      Oh, yes–it is definitely important to learn what will work for your body type–a lesson I’m slowly learning. I suppose if I’d really thought about it, I would have realized ahead of time that that particular silhouette wouldn’t really flatter me. But I tend to get swept away by the styling on the envelope. Experiences like this one serve to help me develop a more discerning eye when choosing patterns–something I’m definitely grateful for!

      • It took me awhile to learn it, and sometimes I still sew something, that I know deep inside, will not flatter. Like you, getting caught up with the pattern’s picture, I have certainly being there πŸ™‚ m.

  2. I feel the same. I’m drawn to all the styles with a belt or very defined waist. I’m learning I just can’t wear them with my high waist. It is made worse by the tummy I’ve developed in the past few years. Those two combine for a not so nice maternity look! My next challenge is finding patterns to make that will flatter…

    • That is the challenge, isn’t it? I, for one, have decided to make myself a bodice block, and from there, I’m going to make my own patterns that work with my shape. This is, of course, crazy talk because I haven’t the first idea what I’m doing, but we all have to start somewhere πŸ™‚

  3. Aw, i hate that for you. I know your pain sweetie. One Victory pattern made me realize that Zoey Deschanel- I am not. I long for the cutesy Audrey Hepburn styles, but that is just not cute in this scale. We have other gorgeous features that they lack tho. You’ve made some beautiful and flattering things and you will make more. Don’t let Cynthia ruin your joy.

    • Cynthia is not the boss of me!
      I suppose, though, it’s a sort of sewing right of passage. You have to make at least one garment that you realize is pretty much the opposite of everything you should be wearing. How else would we learn?

  4. Ugh, I’m STILL making the mistake of making clothes that work against my shape instead of with it. I get seduced by cute images on other people’s blogs and totally disregard the fact that it just. won’t. work. on me. I just finished up a short, boxy top that looks truly terrible on my rectangular frame. After some major surgery (adding a waistband for additional length, taking about 4″ in on the sides), it looks OK on me, but just OK. I think part of the problem is that I have a hazy idea of what looks bad, but not a firm idea of what looks good. Maybe it would be easier and more fun for us if we came up with a list of features that we look and feel great in and chose projects along those lines?

    • What a fantastically brilliant idea! I love it πŸ™‚ Such a positive way to approach a subject that can easily be discouraging.
      I’m really going to think about this and do some major wardrobe analysis.
      You are most definitely onto something–thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  5. Such a shame! I’ve found blogging has helped me better understand what suits me – the unfortunate thing is we have to make it first! Better luck next time πŸ™‚
    I picked up this pattern at a second hand shop for 10 cents recently!

  6. awww it is a shame when something does not work. 😦 I have a recent make which went so wrong but it is almost wearable now. πŸ™‚ and I also sometimes make things that work against my body shape, although I think i am becoming more savvy which is one of the main things i got from sewing.
    I also love that so many people make one pattern work for their body if possible and it is so refreshing compared to media images of bodies. oops getting deep now. i shall stop and hope u get some sewing zen in whatever room it may be. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks πŸ™‚
      It is interesting to see how one pattern works differently on everyone. I do love that the bloggers I like to follow are real people. And by “real” I guess I mean that they’re the sort of people that you might meet anywhere. I find everyday style much more inspiring than anything I see on the runway. Fashion is simply too much work for me!

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

