A Fine China Blouse in Jersey

After the excessive amount of effort demanded by my last project, I am happy to report on three (just one today–the others later) very simple and rewarding makes that remind me that not every sewing endeavor requires blood, sweat and tears to accomplish. And aren’t we all so grateful? It’s a wonderful thing to be able to choose just how challenging we want each project to be–within reason, I suppose. Sometimes things pop up unexpectedly and we have to deal the best we can.

Fortunately, my last three projects went along very well!

Today, let’s chat about a New Look 6107 that I modified for knits. I have to say, I’m pretty proud that it turned out so well 🙂 I began by asking Google what it thought about changing a woven pattern to a knit pattern. And it didn’t really know much at all. Granted, I only dove two pages into the results, so there could have been pearls of sewing wisdom that I missed on pages three and beyond.

However, I decided to just use my common sense to puzzle something out. A couple of modifications were obvious, such as removing the front facings and buttons/ button loops, etc. Basically, I cut the front bodice piece on the fold, rather than cut two. And I eliminated 5/8″ seam allowance from the center front.

Other changes took a little while to figure out. Removing the double point darts from the front and back involved a lot of tape and pinching and folding to get the pattern pieces to lie flat. Also, since I removed the opening and facings from the front, I wasn’t sure the best way to finish the little bit of neckline between the two ties. I ended up doing some stitching to reinforce, carefully clipping and then folding over the middle bit and stitching it down like a hem. It’s not super pretty, but the bow covers it nicely!

I did make the bow twice as wide as the original pattern and I am very, very happy with this change. If I make it again, I will probably shorten the tie by about six inches, I think.

I also reduced the sleeve cap ease by two inches. And then panicked because I thought I’d taken too much out when in reality I could have removed a little more. The sleeve cuffs turned out quite big because I forgot to remove the extra width necessary for overlapping the ends on the original. So, they look a little odd, but they’re quite comfortable.

And finally, I substituted tiny little pleats for the gathers at the yoke on the bodice front. To be honest, I could have just redrawn the pattern to eliminate the yoke and gathers/pleats altogether, but I kind of like the little bit of detail they provide.

I should mention that I could have removed a LOT of ease to make it a fitted shirt. Honestly, though, I’ve never been a fan of skin-tight tees, but I especially don’t need to be wearing them now. Fitted jersey does not flatter me. So, I kept it pretty loose and comfy but not too baggy.

One word about the fabric: I had no idea I liked blue and white together so much! When the fabric first arrived, I was a little disappointed because it seemed busier than I remembered. But the more I look at it, the more I like it. It reminds me of this china that my mom always had when I was growing up. It was blue and white, you know what I’m talking about? It’s a pretty classic pattern, I think.

I have to say, I’m really enjoying sewing with knits! I’m so grateful Craftsy offered such a great class so I can skip over all the bother of figuring things out for myself 🙂 And I know that it sounds like I had to do a lot of work on this one, but it all got done in an afternoon (well, except for the hem. I wanted to wear it out that evening and ran out of time. I have since applied my twin stretch needle to it).

Whew–another project done! It’s a great feeling, isn’t it?

I’m curious–have you ever modified a woven pattern for knits or vice versa? If you wrote about it, do leave a comment with a link to the post so I can be all nosy!

P.S. I just went digging in the basement to find that china–see what I mean?

13 thoughts on “A Fine China Blouse in Jersey

  1. love love love! those little pleat details are divine! 😀 I love the print. it reminds me of my childhood as my mum painted a lot of china in patterns like the cup your holding!
    I have not modified a pattern yet but megan nielsen showed how to do it for the banksia top on her blog which i want to try and then I want to try the same principle for a deer and doe pattern. 🙂

    • Thanks 🙂
      Deer and Doe patterns are so sweet, aren’t they? There’s a little dress I’m thinking of (maybe you’re thinking of too?) that would be so great in a knit!
      Why am I not stalking Megan Nielson’s blog already??? Off to follow immediately!

      • yeah they are!! I am trying to catch up on the sewalong that just started for the robe sureau! 😀 paunnet is hosting it in English. hoping to use my gained knowledge for then making the coat from deer and doe! 🙂

  2. Hmmm. You did a great job on this blouse. I really like the fit. I take it you just took the plunge once you figured out the details. I was wondering: how would one make a muslin for a knit, anyway?

    • Thanks!
      I had made this pattern twice before (with wovens), so I already had a good idea of how it fit. I figured that the worst that could happen would be that it would turn out too big. I suppose if you wanted to muslin a knit pattern, you would just use some inexpensive jersey.

    • Thanks! Making lovely and complicated garments is great fun, but there’s something singularly satisfying about making something simple and everyday wearable.

  3. Love the fabric choice and its great to see how a woven pattern is adapted for sewing with knit! I must admit I wear more knit than woven. You’ve given me inspirations now!

  4. Pingback: Friday link love « Design Lived

  5. Love this! It’s such a great idea to adapt nice blouse patterns for jersey. I tried it once, but didn’t remove enough ease (it was a pattern with a scoop neck) and I ended up with a weird floppy neckline, so I didn’t finish it. 😦

    • Aww–sad day 😦 There really isn’t anything to be done with a droopy neckline, is there…
      I really enjoyed this project–I’m excited to experiment with other patterns!

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

