You Have to Admit. . .

This. . .

. . . looks way better than this:

Or this:

As you may have already guessed, I fixed the zipper on my New Look 6808. I flipped the zipper right-side-up, sewed a normal seam at top and bottom, and centered the zipper between.

I did forget to interface–or rather, I chose not to because it felt like a bother.

I also chose to forgo the Hong Kong seams choosing rather to zig-zag over the zipper tape and seam allowance. It doesn’t look fantastic, but it also didn’t require the cutting of strips.

And that’s pretty much all I did. It was not a great weekend, especially when you consider that I’ve not yet begun my fall sewing. . . and we’re halfway through October.

I still have time, right? It’s hovering around the 70s this week. No need to panic. Right? Right?!?!?

8 thoughts on “You Have to Admit. . .

    • Thanks!
      That’s a good question. I can only assume that the pattern companies maybe don’t expect us to know better? Or maybe they’re trying to keep it easy for us? Either way, it feels a little patronizing.

  1. Ooh, yes, this looks way better! Stupid pattern company! You sure showed ’em!

    Haha, I’m right with you– haven’t done ANY fall sewing yet! Sheesh… time just flies too fast!

    • Thanks–I’m feeling pretty triumphant 🙂
      I’ve gotten as far as my first muslin–thank goodness not everything needs muslining!–but I’m hoping that I’ll be able to knock a few things off the list this weekend.

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

