Autumnal Anticipation

I have spent an insane amount of time thinking about and planning my fall wardrobe. For hours and hours, I sat poring over my pattern stash–even while at work, thanks to Evernote! I searched and compared and researched to find the perfect fabrics that would fit my style (which I still haven’t quite figured out) and my tiny little budget. And if I haven’t been actually working on it, I’ve been thinking about it. I literally have not gone ten minutes without trying to figure out a fabric choice or deciding between two patterns.

I still haven’t quite figured it out. I have a couple holes to fill (two patterns that need fabric) and a pattern to buy (I’m making me some JEANS, y’all! It’s going to be several train wrecks, but it’s still happening.)

But can I just say: I LOVE this! I love all the planning and matching fabrics to patterns. I love knowing that all my separates are going to work together. As I’m finishing up my summer sewing, I’m realizing that nothing matches anything else. It’s all so random. But getting ready for my fall sewing has been tremendously fun!

I know that some people really don’t like to plan ahead. For some, planning is more stifling than inspiring–and I totally get that. When inspiration strikes, you really want to be able to chase after it without feeling guilty that you’ve abandoned your plan. My reasoning for developing a definite plan is to curb my over-enthusiastic fabric purchasing. I spent all spring and summer buying fabrics that had nothing to do with each other.

It went a little something like this:

“Oooh–pretty fabric! Whee! It’s going to be a full-skirted dress with pockets! Oh, more pretty fabric! This is going to be a full-skirted dress with pockets! And this fabric–this is going to be a full-skirted dress with pockets! Oh, look–some twill. . . “

So what I’ve ended up with is some floofy dresses great for spring and summer, but not for fall or winter. I know that I could toss on some tights and a cardi, but the colors and prints are so very floral. They don’t fit with my cool weather vision. So, those dresses are close to hibernation leaving me with massive wardrobe gaps to fill.

I really like the idea of a seasonal wardrobe. I have a few dresses that I can wear all year round and I really get sick of them. My thinking is that if I put clothes away for six months, I’ll be more excited to wear them again when their season returns.

I was a bit over-excited when imagining my autumnal wardrobe and initially found myself with an enormous stack of patterns, most of which I wouldn’t even have the time to touch–not to mention the absurd amount of money I’d have to spend on fabric! I stewed over the issue for a few days and eventually narrowed it down to what I think is an ambitious yet accomplish-able plan.

I decided on four dresses, three blouses, two knit tops, two skirts, two pairs of pants, a blazer and a lightweight jacket. Oh, and a couple of scarves. I also have two, maybe three, understudy dresses with fabric just in case I have time.Yeah–probably not going to happen, but you never know!

Now I’m just waiting for some fabric to come in and then we’ll have show and tell. I wouldn’t really bother telling y’all about all the gory details except I love reading about other people’s sewing plans. It’s great fun, don’t you think?

Potential fall fabrics. You may not be able to tell, but I have a very definite color scheme in mind!

So what are your thoughts? Do you prefer to plan or to sew what you feel? Have you ever tried planning a whole season’s sewing? And more importantly, did it actually work for you? I’m quite curious!

Oh–happy news to report! Guess what I found at Jo-Ann’s this evening. . . I found some very decent 100% cotton fusible interfacing! I was super excited–I thought all they sold was the polyester blend stuff. It definitely took some digging and some thoughtful reading of all the labels. I bought only four yards because–what am I? Made of money? But I will be haunting that shelf every time I have a viable coupon. I might even need to beat back the staid sewing mavens with some bolts of heavyweight. Don’t think I won’t do it. Excited about interfacing–who’d a thunk?

Now that I think of it, I was equally excited a couple weeks ago when I finally bought a tailor’s ham and seam roll. Really, really excited.

Clearly, I have drunk the Kool-Aid.

7 thoughts on “Autumnal Anticipation

  1. I’d be excited too!
    I have a plan but my head does get turned by a new pattern, ie Gertie’s Butterick dress (totally unplanned!).
    I think it’s great to have a plan and fill wardrobe gaps, however if it takes all the joy out of your sewing then I think a plan can be counterproductive. Sometimes you can be too sensible and I think some oft favourite RTW clothes have been totally unplanned but they were just perfect – one should never ignore serendipity.

    • Quite right! It’s all about balance and flexibility and by all means retaining the joy, I tend to enjoy planning (even beyond my sewing world) because it gives me focus and enthusiasm for what’s to come. But serendipity and I need to become better friends 🙂

  2. I kinda sew how i feel. I have certain items in mind I want to make eventually but I do not stress if I get side tracked. 😀 I am currently trying to reduce my stash though to buy some more wintery fabrics.

    • I, too, am in need of stash reduction! I think, though, that since most of what I have is lightweight and summery, I’ll focus this fall/winter on getting rid of all my scraps. Then, next spring, it’s all about stash busting!

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

