Sewing for the Summer

I have got to pull myself together. I’ve been sort of wafting and wiffling around (Wiffling may not be a word. But it should be.) with no aim and no goals. I feel like the summer is almost over (I live in Atlanta–the summer is so far from over it makes me sticky just thinking about it. . . ) and I haven’t accomplished any summer sewing! Already, four things I’ve made are unwearable, mostly because of the heat (one was terrible fabric). So, instead of fretting about it, I’m making myself sit down and come up with a plan.

First, I have to analyze my wardrobe and find the holes.

This one is easy: tops. I need more tops. Non-knit tops. Nothing clingy. Everything needs to be airy, breathable, breezy, and layer-able. Here’s what I’m thinking:

Colette Sorbetto

I’ve made one of these before, but it was sort of a disaster. Let’s call it a barely wearable muslin. But, I’d like to try again with a much better fabric and with some fitting adjustments (I made NONE last time and you can tell).

New Look 6808

I love almost all of these blouses. I’ve already decided on view C for my aqua Swiss dot I’ve been dying to use. I had originally planned on New Look 6078, mostly because I’ve really been wanting something with a Peter Pan collar, But now I’m thinking I’ll hold off on that until the fall.

You know when you find the EXACT fabric you were hoping for? This is that fabric. Although, it looks a little weird in this photo. . . 

I’d also like to make a few others–I love the sleeveless versions with the collar. So cute.

Apparently, I like cute.

New Look 6107

I made this one before, and except for the terrible fabric, it was a fitting success. I want another go–this time in a nice breathable cotton. Oh oh oh–how about this green and white lawn?

Yes.

Simplicity 1872

I love this dress, but wrappy things are so tricky for me. They are always, always going to be too low (I’m not all about being revealing) and I refuse to wear a cami underneath. Refuse. So, I don’t know if this pattern (view A is what I’m thinking) will work, but I’m going to give it a try. There will have to be many, many adjustments.

Maybe I should seek out some rayon for this one. I want something breathable but with some drape. Suggestions?

Simplicity 2702

Do you ever buy patterns and then later on question your sanity? This is one of those patterns. It was only a dollar, so I don’t feel that bad. But, honestly–a shapeless mass of a dress is not what I’m going for. However, I think maybe the tunic (the one with the bow, of course) might work.

Cotton poplin, maybe?

A poplin might be too stiff for this. . . I don’t know. I’m so not great with fabrics.

Simplicity 2892

I’ve been thinking about this one for a long time. I want to try the one in the middle on the right. I just don’t know how it will work with my short-waistedness.

Maybe with this bold cotton lawn.

The good news is I have lots of polyester shirting (it’s cute, but bleh polyester) that I’m so very willing to cut up and use for wearable muslins. For a long time I’ve regretted buying all that stuff, but now I’m pretty grateful. It gives me something cheap to learn with. And actually, a couple of them are so cute, I’m going to make some nice dresses with them. I’ll just have to hold off on wearing them until it’s less deathly outside.

So, this weekend (and probably on the Fourth–not a lot of big plans around here) I hope to  gain some sewing momentum. I also have to finish my muslin for my shirt dress. Muslin #1 is not working for me. So far, I’ve had to add darts and I’m thinking I need a swayback adjustment as well. I’m just not sure how to do that on a dress. . .

Things to do. Things to do.

(Can you tell I’m super tired? Oh. Man. It’s been a rough week, my friends. Let’s all try to get some rest.)

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

