On the Celebration of Small Accomplishments

Just a tiny little update on a previous project.

I mentioned last Thursday that I had taken my Easter Dress apart and was planning to put it back together with pleats that don’t make me want to hit people. I have to say, I’m pretty pleased with the outcome.

First, these are the original pleats:

And the pleats now:

I don’t know if you can tell a difference, but I certainly can.

I also decided to have another go at attaching the lining properly based on a technique that I first picked up from the Colette Iris shorts (which I am going to get around to chatting about someday) and also recently read about on the Sewaholic blog. Methinks I need to spend some quality time with Sewaholic patterns. Actually, it would do me good to focus on buying more indie designer patterns in general. I believe in supporting small businesses!

Also, I need better zippers.

If you’re wondering what else I accomplished last weekend–not so much. But enough to be happy about. I fiddled around with my Iris shorts, and I think I have settled on some workable adjustments. Next weekend, perhaps, I’ll make some in a nice yellow twill. I want to do the version with the buttons, so I need to remember to swing by Jo-Ann’s this week (50% off buttons! Like I would buy them otherwise. . .) because in all my button stash I do not have four matching 3/4″ buttons.

I did get my oil changed and spent the time covering my pattern weights with ribbon. Those Meineke people already think I’m nuts, so it’s okay.

They’re just washers in various sizes taped together with some duct tape and covered with ribbon.

I definitely did not even think about painting–though I still very much want to–and I did not touch my sewing basket. Also, since I’ve decided to join in the Shirt Dress Sew-Along (First Sew-Along! Hurray!) at A Fashionable Stitch, I’m going to hold off on tackling Simplicity 2246 again. I feel that I may learn a thing or two that I can definitely apply to any and all future shirt dress attempts.

And I think that about covers it!

Unless you want to hear about how I finally got my PS3 hooked up to the WiFi so now I can watch Netflix on the TV rather than my laptop.

I was pretty excited.

2 thoughts on “On the Celebration of Small Accomplishments

  1. The new pleats look great. So jealous! I’m going through a pleat trauma myself, so this post gives me hope to try again.

    Definitely discuss the Iris shorts when you get the chance. I was thinking about doing those for the Summer Spark sewalong but I’d love to hear someone’s opinion on those first.

    Isn’t it great to have Netflix on TV rather than just laptop?? I got a Roku player for that and it’s awesome.

    Thanks again for the pleat inspiration. Great job!

    • Thanks so much! I’m always happy to inspire 🙂

      I guess the lesson I learned with these pleats is that you have to do what you have to do to get them to look right. I tried following the pattern instructions and ended up with the nutty first version. If I’d followed my eye and instincts the first time (and taken my time for Pete’s sake), I wouldn’t have had to redo them. In a nutshell, pattern companies are not omniscient!
      I wish you luck with your pleats!
      I’m hoping to sew up my second Iris pair this weekend, so maybe next week I’ll finally get the post up! I am by no means an “Iris Expert,” but I’ve definitely learned a lot.

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

