The Dress for the Interview That Wasn’t

So, you know by now that I hate my job. I used to be a teacher, so back in February, I started looking around for another teaching job–around the same time that I started sewing. I applied to work at a great school, so, naturally, I thought that one of the first dresses I made should be fit for an interview.

I bought three or four yards of what I think might have been polyester gray suiting. It’s very lightweight, but it doesn’t breathe very well. It was part of the first order of fabric that I received, so I didn’t know too much about fabric at the time.Β I used Simplicity 2588. At first I was going to use the slim skirt–to be more “professional.” But, as I have mentioned before, I was in some sort of full skirt fugue state.

There’s not much to say about the construction–except that I had major struggles to get the princess seams right. And by “right” I actually mean “still wrong.” If I do this pattern again, which I think I will, I’ll make the bodice smaller at the top and grade up to the waist. I’m sure there are about a hundred other adjustments I could make.

I finished the dress about two months ago. Recently, however, I’ve been wanting to work on adding more personality to my creations with trims and such. And when I found this tutorial for surface cording on the Coletterie, I knew I wanted to try it. And it wasn’t long before I knew I wanted to try it on my plain, simple, not-actually-ever-used-for-an-Interview Dress.

In fact, the Embellishment of the Dress was part of my Weekend of Great Accomplishment.

I ran into several snags along the way–the fabric frayed a bit more than it really needed to, so I ended up not being able to use several inches of the cord that I’d covered. Which meant that I needed to do the design again, which meant that I was really annoyed. But, miraculously, I really love how it turned out. I know it’s not perfect, especially on the ends, but I adore this technique!

I highly recommend that you give surface cording a try, that is, if you have the patience for it. I warn you: there will come a time in the middle of the process when you will begin to question every decision you made in your life that brought you to this point. You may need to coin a few curses to relieve your feelings.

In spite of the severe annoyance and the almost insane amount of time involved and the hundred different chances for the project to derail, I actually recommend you give surface cording a try. I think you’ll be very pleased with your results!

5 thoughts on “The Dress for the Interview That Wasn’t

  1. I love the cording detail. I am currently making the same dress and fighting with matching all the seams along zip at the back. I made the dress with the straight skirt a couple of months ago.:-)

      • I finished the dress last night, I used two rows of machine basting to secure it in place and then sewed the zip in the same direction on both sides, it did the rick, all three seams up the back match to my surprise πŸ™‚ I am definitely going to use the tutorial for the cording in the future it looks lovely

        • Isn’t it wonderful when things actually WORK??
          I’ve found that my problem is that I want to rush through things without taking the time to line everything up properly. I’m learning πŸ™‚

          • I totally agree with your there, the urgency to see the finished article can be stronger than wanting everything exactly right, it is the less of two evils πŸ™‚

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

