The Whipstitch Dress of Great Adorableness

I don’t mean to get all braggy on you, but this is my favorite dress that I have made.

Actually, it’s just my favorite dress. Period.

And really, there’s not that much to say about its construction. Everything went well. The fabric is cotton broadcloth, I believe, and it is super easy to work with. It has a slightly stiffer drape because I think it may be quilting weight cotton, but whatevs. I like it. The debate can rage around me. I care not.

Close up of the pattern mish-mash.

I used Simplicity 2180. When I originally bought the fabric, I had a completely different idea of what I planned to do with it. But, you know how ideas evolve. It took me a long time to come up with this final plan. I liked the fabric so much that I was worried about ruining it by choosing the wrong pattern.

This is my first attempt with mixing patterns. I am clearly not some sort of genius at it, but I really like how it turned out. I took great pains to match the lines at the shoulder seams. Of course, I could have taken more pains and also matched up the little dots, but it wouldn’t be one of my creations if it didn’t have wonky bits.

The shoulder seam. See what I mean about the dots?

The one issue I have with this dress is the top of the zipper. As usual, it went a little wonky. I’ve been thinking about how to fix this without major deconstruction. What do you think? Is it worth going back in to perfect?

The answer is YES. Oh man–it’s SO TERRIBLE!!

Actually, I lied–I have another issue. I did the darts wrong. So wrong. They end way too high–I didn’t know what I was doing. Based on my Shirt Dress, I thought that I needed to raise all the darts by an inch to get the top to fit right, but now I’m thinking I need to just cut a smaller bust and leave the darts where they are. I’m hoping to do some experimentation this weekend.

In the end, I’m pleased–even with all the craziness. No one else really looks as closely at the details as I do.

You know–unless some crazy person is taking and editing pictures specifically to magnify the mistakes. Who would do such a thing??

. . . Oh. Right.

4 thoughts on “The Whipstitch Dress of Great Adorableness

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

