My Thoughts on Being Photo Shot

Last Thursday evening, Hunter, Noelle and I set out for a nearby park to take pictures of a few of my completed projects. I wasn’t nervous about being in front of the camera or anything (I was a theater person in college, so that would be unacceptable!) but I’m not entirely comfortable with the idea. There’s a reason there aren’t that many pictures of me floating around out there.

But we did have fun–that is until the severe weather rolled in and rained right on our parade.

Let me just share with you a few things that I learned:

1. Pencil skirts are not appropriate garb for leaping over streams.

2. Definitely bring someone along who will be honest and tell you that your hair looks weird. And who will fix it for you. And who will also buckle your shoe if you lose all competence.

3. Maybe check the weather forecast.

4. If you don’t ever know what to do with your hands, bring props. It’s okay–they don’t have to make sense. They just have to be awesome.

5. If you, like me, prefer to blissfully forget the camera’s existence rather than stare it down, it helps to think very hard about something pleasant but not hilarious. Like kittens. Or stuffed peppers.

6. Don’t worry about what other people will think about what you were trying to accomplish with your pictures. If you like what you’ve done, that’s that.

And 7. Definitely, definitely give lots of shout outs to your photographer. Especially if he also makes some pretty fantastic stir fry. Which I am currently craving.

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

