The Jenny’s Skirt of Trying to Make It Work For Pete’s Sake

This is the failed version of Noelle’s Skirt. I’ve already detailed my experience with making this skirt up to the point where I cut off five inches mistakenly.

Unwilling to waste all that fabric, I decided to experiment with some trim. I added a strip of ribbon along the cut edge and attached a strip of the fabric to make the skirt a decent length.

The problem, as I soon found out, was that using grosgrain ribbon (I think that’s what it is) caused the skirt to flair out awkwardly.

So, I tried pinning down the pleats above and below the ribbon to bring the skirt back into its natural shape.

Not. Flattering.

My next thought was to pin down the pleats altogether to make the skirt drape properly. It worked–sort of. To be honest–the whole thing is very clumsy. Lots of unnecessary fabric. After I finished all that stitching, I tried on the skirt and discovered that the lining was out of control since it was now fuller than the skirt. So, the lining also had to be stitched down.

Yeah. Like I said. Clumsy.

But it’s done. And I’m thinking that it will be a passable skirt in the fall.

The one thing that is the saving grace of this skirt?

The bow.

Behold!

The bow is a win. The rest is a hot mess.

Also,

Neville helped.

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

