Biding My Time. . . Holy Cow Someone Get Me Out of Here!

I am at work.

I can think of about 800 things I could be working on at home. But I’m at work. I have nothing to do. Literally. No things to do.

You could say it’s the worst job ever. I mean–sure, no one has shot at me today. I haven’t been forced to handle a python. There is no conclusive evidence of the plague in the building. But, spending hours and hours just sitting around 1. Does not do wonders for the waist and the hips 2. Makes me crazy out of my head.

So, when there’s nothing going on (which is 90% of the time), I write drafts of future posts. I fiddle around with Evernote (best organizing tool EVER). I read other people’s blogs. I shop for fabric (shame, shame, shame on me. Someone STOP me.) But I am forced to not do what I really want to do which is to sew–in particular, to work on my silk noil skirt because I am so close to completion I can taste it. (I italicize a lot when I’m irritated.)

GrrrROWL!

Let’s think of jolly things, shall we? For instance, I just received a small shipment of new fabrics last night, hurray and HURRAY! So much adorableness. I managed to score the last three yards of some red and white striped seersucker that I had been eying (really–it’s not spelled “eyeing”? Weird. . . ) all week. And when I finally gave in to my fabric acquisition urges that Friday morning (pay day!) and saw that there were only three yards left, I pretty much gave up. But, I emerge triumphant! I have some lovely plans in store for that seersucker.

I guess I could also be happy about the brand new fuchsia pencil skirt I’m wearing today. I just finished it this weekend. I’ll talk more about it later, but I am happy that it fits comfortably. Most of my clothes don’t these days.

But overall, I’m feeling a bit blue. It seems like I am NEVER going to get out of this job that I hate so much. Just now, yet another job opportunity fell through.

Here’s a question for those of you who sew: How far will you go to make something work? I mean, how many times will you take something apart and redo it before giving in or just going with it? See, I just finished something for the second time (essentially) and I’m not entirely happy. It works as is, but it’s not exactly what I was hoping for. I want to take it apart again, and go back to modify the pattern. (I plan to write about this later, so I’m being intentionally vague.) There are so many patterns I want to try and fabrics in my stash I want to use, but I’m suddenly feeling an urge to go back to the things I’ve already finished and try to fix all those little bits that went wrong. Is this crazy? I typically make a muslin, but there always seem to be things that go wrong with the final garment.

Really, I’m just curious. I’m probably going to do it anyway. I’d rather have clothes I’d actually wear than a bunch of closet-filler. And isn’t going back to fix previous mistakes part of the learning process?

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

