Patience Is For People With Cupcakes

When I decided that I wanted to start my own sewing blog, I began by stalking other people’s blogs. I am trying not to be envious of their collective knowledge and success. The thing that I most want to be able to do is to create my own patterns–or rather hybrids of patterns that I already have. To be able to add details and drape my own clothes. There are so many things that I don’t know how to do, terms that I don’t understand (what exactly is a gored skirt? And catch stitching?).

I know that there are a few solutions to my problem: 1) Experience. 2) Reading books and blogs and such. 3) Experience.

I keep finding myself getting impatient. I want to start doing great and wonderful things NOW. But in light of how little I know, I get very discouraged. I wonder how I’ll ever be able to be as creative as I want to be.

But then, I take a step back and remind myself that 1) I’ve only been at this for a couple of months. I just got my new sewing machine in February, and it was a few weeks later that I had fabric and patterns to work with. And 2) The place to start is right here, right where I am, doing what I’m already doing. You know how I’ll learn about making clothes? By making clothes.

When I first started, I had to read up on how to insert in-seam pockets and I had to follow instructions step by step. Now, I breeze right through the pockets (reminder to self: overlock edge of pocket and skirt before sewing seam–I never remember to do this) and only glance at instructions when I find myself in unfamiliar territory (which, let’s just be honest, happens most of the time.)

So, I’m trying not to get too down on myself for not knowing everything and not being able to create as wildly as my imagination wishes to. Right now is about learning to do things right and getting down the basics that will be the foundation for all the whimsy I can muster in the years to come.

P. S. I’ve already made several little this and thats. I’m going to start posting pictures as soon as I have them. I have a friend who is helping me with pictures, but he can’t really do anything until I get out of this grumble phase I’ve been in.

Seriously–I tried to put my hair in a ponytail yesterday, but I couldn’t get it to look right because one of my fingers had a band-aid on it, and I got so angry.

I stayed home from work; I don’t need to be going to a terrible job when I’m feeling angry. I did not really get any sewing done at all, but I did pull out my crocheting and fiddled around with it. I find crocheting to be very relaxing. It’s almost like meditation with the repetitive movements and the steady counting.

I really miss being home.

Boo, Terrible Job. Boo.

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

