Where the Posts Have No Name

I’ve been hoarding post drafts for quite a while now, waiting until everything on my new blog was perfect to actually “go live.” But, perfect is just a figment of my imagination. Therefore, there is no better time than now to launch this thing and stop making excuses.

First impressions are very important.

And that’s why I’ve been staring at this empty white box for about a week two weeks a month now. Not able to come up with anything to say to properly introduce myself. (Also, no titles were coming to mind–hence the U2 throwback. But, as we all know, U2 references are always appropriate.)

It’s pretty important that you understand right here in the beginning that I don’t really know what I’m doing.

Jolie Fleur shirting. There’s certainly a lot of fleur. And that’s how I like it.

I just started seriously sewing in February. Late February. Practically March, really. I received my own sewing machine (to replace my fairly unreliable old Singer I inherited from my Grandmother) for a very, very late birthday present. I already had a working knowledge of how to sew and how to follow a pattern. I have certainly learned a lot since I’ve been sewing for reals.

Now I’m at that phase where I semi-frequently encounter terms and instructions I do not understand, so I make a frantic web search for answers. For instance, I have just learned what exactly a “scant quarter inch seam” is and how to best achieve it (move my needle to the right–novel idea!). I’m working on a blouse that requires button loops–which based on what I’ve read is a technique a lot of people hesitate to try. Anyways–I’ll talk about the blouse later.

I started this blog for a few reasons. One, I really enjoy blogging. I like to write casual nonsense, and I’m excited to have a niche to focus on. Two, I have been silently stalking this amazing online sewing community for months–so many fun people and projects! Also, it’s good to have accountability and an outlet to share my creations. I don’t really get out a lot, and I hardly ever see people that I know (or really any people at all) where I work.

Also, I hate my job and hope that sewing will provide an escape route. In the mean time, however, the sewing bug gives me something pleasant, creative, and challenging to save my brain from atrophy.

Meet Neville. He will be popping up quite a bit. There’s also Oliver, but he doesn’t care about you and did not wish to appear in this post.

I had been interested in sewing my own clothes since late last summer when I discovered Pinterest, but I never expected to love it this much. Discovering new patterns (and old patterns!) and exploring different fabrics has become my new obsession!

I really just feel as if this whole new world has opened up for me, and I’m absolutely loving the experience.

So, this blog is here to chronicle my journey from irritable bookstore clerk to. . . amazing seamstress? Indie pattern designer? Everyone’s favorite sewing instructor?

We shall see. . .

2 thoughts on “Where the Posts Have No Name

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

