Sloper?!? I Hardly Know ‘Er!

BAHAHAHA!!

It’s the oldest joke ever, but it still makes me laugh :)

So, last week, I was sort of banished from my little sewing machine because my sewing room became a guest room which was in service with all the family and such. How did I fill my time then?

I’ve only barely begun to read that pattern making book. It was a birthday gift and is just a little bit over my head at this point. Am I still stupid excited about it?? YES.

Well, I finally got around to working on a bodice block which I’ve been meaning to do forever. Excepting the fact that I measured all sorts of wrong, it wasn’t hard at all! I actually really enjoyed working on it. When I discovered on tries 1 and 2 that things were terribly askew, I was only the tiniest bit frustrated about starting all over. Really, all my frustration came from not yet realizing that I’d measured SO VERY WRONG.

By the by, I used this tutorial from Madalynne. I did a lot of reading and searching around to find good instructions that didn’t use the metric system. I mean–I could have done a metric version, but being an American gal, I think in inches not centimeters. I did also find a good tutorial from Sky Turtle, but her instructions were a little more confusing to my brain. Now that I’ve got the hang of it (And by “hang of it,” I mean I feel significantly less overwhelmed than I used to), I think I’d like to do her version to compare.

Just a word about measurements: If you are measuring yourself, GET THEE TO A MIRROR. Seriously, I don’t know what I was thinking the first few times I tried measuring myself just standing around in my room. After my second failure, I redid all my measuring in front of a mirror and discovered all but one of my original measurements was wrong.

This is my first drawing:

Do you see the problem? I mean, there are several, but there’s one really obvious and ridiculous mistake.

Clearly, someone thinks she has THE SMALLEST NECK EVER.

I didn’t take pictures of my second try–but oh man, it was so wrong. Let’s just say that it maybe might have worked if I had no arms. Or a rib cage.

My third attempt was successful, I think. I still need to draw the back bodice, true the front and back, and then make a muslin. Then I’ll be able to tell if I was anywhere close to reality. For the back bodice, I’m getting someone else to measure me. There’s no way I can measure my back and get it right. I am wondering now if I should just get my happy helper to do all the measurements again and check them against my originals. It’s probably more accurate when someone else measures you, right? And then I’ll get to draw it all over again! FUN TIMES!

You are aware that I’m sort of a nerd, right? I thought so.

I did discover through this process that I’m not so great at using my French curves. I spent way more time on the neckline and armholes than the rest of the drawing altogether and still didn’t get things quite right. I should probably see if someone has some wisdom to share out there. (Hint, hint, readers. Wisdom? Anyone?)

And now I’m going to get caught up on my blog reading. I didn’t check in at all last week, so things are just piling up! Which is okay, because there’s nothing happening at work right now. I gotta keep busy, one way or another :)

19 thoughts on “Sloper?!? I Hardly Know ‘Er!

  1. I’m very impressed – what an ambitious project! Maybe one of these days… But I think I need to make more than a couple successful projects before I get all advanced! ‘smallest neck ever’… so funny. I didn’t even notice until you wrote that and then it cracked me up!

    • I think you might be surprised how much easier it is than you think. It is daunting at first and can get pretty confusing. But, if you take it step by step and allow yourself the grace to make mistakes, it’s not bad at all!
      I just can’t believe I didn’t notice how wrong that neck was until I was done! So silly :)

  2. Ahhh, I wanna do a sloper so bad but I am WAY bad at math, measurements, accuracy, logic… wait, why do I sew??? This explains sooooo much… Anyways, looking forward to seeing how yours turns out!

    • Haha! I’ve always been awful at math–it’s only because of sewing that I’ve become semi-good at fractions. Oh man, I HATED studying fractions. Little did I know…

      I think that if you can make clothes that fit without a lot of fuss, you’re probably okay forgoing the sloper. But since I have to make about five dozen mods to just about every pattern, I thought it would be worth having a trusty base to start with. That’s the goal, anyway!

      • I love the idea of having a sloper that fits perfectly so you can just adapt patterns and don’t have to do a zillion muslins every time (I always end up making a ton of muslins, too, blech). I know there are a couple of girls who do that and they can zip through making a dress!

        • Ack–SO TIRED OF MUSLINS!! I’m hoping my sloper will be the muslin to end all muslins.

          You should totally make one. If I can do it (this remains to be seen since I haven’t even begun all the inevitable tweaking!), I’m certain you could, too :)

          • I think I’ll wait a little bit before I start in on a sloper. I’m in the middle of a month-long project, what seemed like a super simple dress that’s been plagued with a million stupid setbacks. It’s all I can do to keep from cutting the thing into ribbons! So I don’t have the patience or emotional strength to try something tough right now! :)

  3. Hi, thanks for the mention. Argh, I was afraid it was confusing. I would like to improve the tutorial. Was it the language that you found confusing? Or just following which measurements to do when?
    Would a video be more helpful?
    I am also interested in the inches vs cm issue. I think in cm, but I always try to add the measurements in inches. Would you prefer 2 different versions? One in cm and one in inches?
    And re: the hilarious neck mistake = I made mine so big it was a sloper with a boat neck :>
    Last but not least, how great to fin your blog!

    • I think what initially threw me off was being unsure of what pictures corresponded to which instructions. Having been through the process a couple of times now, it’s not so confusing since I’d be a little less reliant on the pictures.
      I did find your explanations of how to take the measurements very helpful! There were several that I’d never heard of before, so it helped a lot to have some guidance. I think if you do a video, showing how to take each measurement would be so awesome!
      As far as inches vs. centimeters goes, I prefer the version you have with the inches noted :)
      Thanks so much for stopping by! I do want to give your version a try. It has some ease added, correct? I’d like to compare to see which one fits better. I’ll let you know how I get on!

    • Trust me, I was seriously overwhelmed at first, too! I kept trying to figure it all out before starting, but eventually decided that’s pretty much impossible. I just had to dive in and start drawing and see what would happen :)

  4. Pingback: Generous Bloggers surround me- « Pretty Grievances

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

