A Striped Tee for the Morally Ambivalent (And a Bonus Hoodie)

I’m not really morally ambivalent. I just really like the word “ambivalent.”

This is another Sewing With Knits project. It turned out both better and worse than my last attempt.

I found this black and white striped cotton jersey at GirlCharlee.com and was so very excited about because it was just exactly what I wanted. I spent ages trying to find and true the grain and eventually gave up. I laid the fabric out in a single layer and cut all my pieces separately. For pieces that needed to be cut on the fold, I just cut half and then flipped the pattern piece. I was especially stressed about the cutting because I really wanted my stripes to line up properly. I ended up drawing a straight line perpendicular to the grain line in the same spot on each pattern piece so I could like that up with the bottom of a black stripe in an attempt to get everything lined up.

The fact that the fabric was super slinky did NOT help.

But, in the end, with some careful pinning and some slight stretching to make things fit, I think it turned out fairly well for a first timer. Well, practically a first timer. I’m not known for my superb pattern-matching skills.

Can you tell that the stripes are just a wee bit off on this side?

There are some spots that are off a bit, definitely including the sleeve caps. I really just didn’t know how to handle them at all. There were many times that I wished I had cut the thing out on the bias. But, I’m glad I persevered. There are places on my sleeves that are perfect! I was like, “BAM!”

Matchy matchy, for the WIN!!

Matchy matchy sleeve caps? Not so much. But it’s no so bad–I think this was the good side.

I did learn that a twin needle + slinky fabric is not the best idea. After finishing all the hemming, I realized that the fabric between the stitches had bunched up (more than normal)–maybe something was wrong with the tension? But it didn’t do this consistently. Maybe the threads got mixed up? But I didn’t have a problem on my knit New Look 6107. No idea, really.

The icky twin needle hem

I was also not in love with the look of the black topstitching on the white.

Anyways, I pulled it all out and did a very small turned under hem with a triple stretch stitch (I was very excited when I discovered my machine had this stitch!) on the black so that you really can’t see it.

And the triple stretch stitch hem that I like :)

I added two inches of length to my sleeves because when I’m wanting to feel cozy, I like to cover my hands with my sleeves. I discovered with my last tee that the sleeves were a bit short for me. My limbs are longer than normal for my height–I think to make up for the smooshed nature of my torso. Normal people would probably find the sleeves to be just right.

The big issue with this shirt is the neckband. I followed the same steps I did last time (I even took about an inch off the seam at the back) but the band still turned out too big so it flops over a bit. I think it’s partly due to the flimsy nature of the fabric. I’m hoping that it will shape up after a wash.

This is post-wash. As you can see, it didn’t help.

The shirt is very, very comfy and I do love the stripes! The only thing is that it scares Eloise–I don’t know why. She always gets startled when I walk into a room wearing it. Cats are so silly :) Speaking of. . .

I did also finish my Sewing With Knits fleece hoodie. Not much to say about it. It’s big. It’s cozy. It’s so easy!

Awkward picture that really doesn’t show you the garment very well: check.

Some hems

It’s also a little too warm for wearing inside. Although, I did toss it on last night at 3:30 when the smoke detectors started beeping because the batteries were low. Question: why do they always start doing this at the most inconvenient times???

I rather like the neckline.

The hoodie has room for all your hairs.

So, four projects down (plus a bonus!)–I feel like I’m gaining some momentum finally! I have made a couple of changes to the list which I’m really happy with–I’ll tell you when I get there. For now, I’m working on Simplicity 2305 (more rayon challis, deary-dear!).

There has been some craziness around here lately. Some good crazy and some crazy crazy. Changes are coming, and my brain is whirring with grandiful ideas :)

Also, I’m really ready to decorate my Christmas tree–who’s with me??

14 thoughts on “A Striped Tee for the Morally Ambivalent (And a Bonus Hoodie)

  1. Love your stripes and I’m just cutting out a hoodie!
    I found my twin needle did the same thing with my recent Vogue stretch dress with the hems. I was just fascinated to see them sewing I almost didn’t care!

    • I know! It is fun to watch–which is why I didn’t notice the bunching until I was all done! It did it a little bit with my NL6107, but not nearly as bad. I’m pretty certain, after thinking about it, that it was a tension issue caused by the threads getting twisted.

      Have fun with your hoodie! I really enjoyed working on mine–such a low stress project :)

  2. Stitching on knits causes skipped stitches quite often. It’s the knit, not the operator.
    And as for matching stripes on a sleeve cap? It can only be done up to a certain point, then it is not mathematically possible, the curves aren’t the same.
    Looks great, I’d say!

    • Thanks for the tips!
      I haven’t had trouble with skipped stitches, thank goodness, but I will keep that in mind.
      I see what you’re saying about the sleeve caps. I think what really bothers me was that the two sides don’t match, you know what I mean?
      Thanks for the encouragement :)

  3. The tops look good! Like sewfrench said, you can’t match stripes at the sleeve caps correctly, so RTW shirts will have the same problem. Neck bands can be such a pain in the butt, too. I just finished one with a neckband that’s a little too short, so it sticks out. Sigh.

    • Thanks :) It’s pretty much my new fave.
      Yes, it was pretty silly of me to try to make the sleeve caps perfect–obviously it won’t work! But I do wish that the right and left sides matched–not sure why they don’t. I didn’t get a good picture of the two together.
      Clearly I can feel your neckband pain. I wonder if the slinky fabric was the culprit in this case. And if so, what’s a girl to do about it???

  4. these are so great! yay for knits! glad u feel inspired and are making some awesome things!!! Love the hood! It looks super cosey!

I'm done. Now, YOU can talk :)

